Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

American Indian Studies: Online, oral, and nearby resources

Online and Out Loud

These sites include free digitized information.

American Philosophical Society
Some MP3s and images, more not on-line

Autry Museum of the American West
Some collections on-line; Native theatre

Burke Museum
Links to interactive collections

Calisphere
UC Libraries' united digital repository

Canadiana

Heard Museum

Library of Congress - Prints and Photographs
Access to on-line collection

Library of Congress - Veterans History Project
Voices of Native American veterans

Mountain West Digital Library
Cooperative of Libraries providing digital access

Museum of Archeology and Ethnology
Virtual exhibits

New Mexico Digital Collections

New York State Library
Native American digital collection 

Oklahoma State University Digital Collections:

Duke Collection of American Indian Oral History
Typescripts of interviews w/Indians in OK on their tribal histories and cultures

Indian-Pioneer Papers oral history collection 
Typescripts of interviews conducted during the 1930s

Native American Manuscript Collections
Indian history in Oklahoma, Indian Territory, and the southwestern United States

The Western History Collections Photographic Archives
Over 250,000 prints and negatives

Peabody Museum of Archeology and Ethnology
Over 300,000 records with images

Project Jukebox
University of Alaska Fairbanks - interviews, photos

Rocky Mountain On-Line Archive
Archival cooperative from Colorado, New Mexico, and Wyoming

Southern Oregon Digital Archive

Smithsonian Archives

Smithsonian Institution
Online collections of Native American and Indigenous History and Culture 

University of Washington - Special Collections
Search "digital collections"

Papers of the War Department
From 1784-1800; multiple ways to search 

Wisconsin Historical Society:

American Journeys
Eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada 

For more information, try searching these entities near your area of research:

- Universities (Libraries, Special collections and Archives)
- Tribal, State, and Local Historical Societies
- Tribal, State, and Local Museums 

Archival Resources @ UWM Libraries

UWM Libraries' Archives
Source material on Native Americans in Wisconsin in the 20th century, including language instruction, education, and cultural organizations

Students at Carlisle tin shop c. 1910-1915

Letter from Oklahoma U Western Collection

Beginning Historical Research

Learning Historical Research
William Cronin's site for beginning historical research - great info

Field Trips

The Newberry Library - D'Arcy Mcnickle Center
American Indian and Indigenous studies - no collections on line

Raynor Memorial Libraries - Marquette University
Some digitized collections, more in paper; see index

Wisconsin Historical Society
In Madison, if they can't Interlibrary loan the info, you can visit them 

Wisconsin Tribal Museums
Contact Tribes and see Web pages for more information