Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected databases available @ UWM Libraries for beginning your search
Depending on your topic these database may be good places to begin researching
America: History & Life
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
ABC-CLIO Solutions (formerly American Mosaic) is a full text database of reference sources and primary documents focusing on the history and culture of African Americans, Latino Americans and American Indians.
Early Encounters in North America: People, Cultures, and the Environment
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment provides full text documents on the relationships among peoples and the environment in North America.
Ethnic NewsWatch incorporates both current Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, providing a full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 330 titles, from 1959 to current. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
Search@UW provides an integrated search and discovery experience across a wide range of print and e-resources, including UW System and UW Milwaukee print collections, digital images, institutional repositories, and huge collections of academic literature.
WorldCat holds tens of millions of bibliographic records that represent more than one billion items. It encompasses hundreds of languages and all formats, including rapidly growing numbers of electronic resources and digital objects.
The UW System subscription to WorldCat via the FirstSearch and Discovery platforms expired on June 30, 2020.
Find more books at Woodland Pattern Book Center
Woodland Pattern Book Center has a great selection of books about and by Native Americans