Skip to main content

Dance Resources at UWM: Streaming Audio and Video - Free and not

How to access dance resources at the UWM Libraries. Especially for students in the Master's distance ed program

Streaming Video

The UWM Libraries subscribes to several databases that include dance video.

 

American History in Video - American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

Black Studies in Video - Black Studies in Video features award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides unique access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.

Digital Theatre Plus - Digital Theatre Plus provides streaming access to digitally captured British theatrical, dance, opera, and symphonic performances from houses such as the The Globe Theatre of London, The Royal Shakespeare Company, the Young Vic, The Liverpool Everyman Theatre, & The Royal Opera House at Covent Garden. It also includes archival captures of Broadway productions and opera performances by the Spanish company Gran Teatre del Liceu. A wide selections of behind-the-scenes documentaries and teaching/learning resources to facilitate a deeper understanding of the works being presented are also available.


Ethnographic Video Online - Ethnographic Video Online, Volume I provides the largest, most comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior— with more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion. The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.

Filmakers Library Online - Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.

Films On Demand - Films on Demand is a streaming video collection of over 25,000 high-quality digital programs and video clips, covering topics in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, business and economics, and health.
Subjects covered include: Anthropology, Area Studies, Art & Architecture, Biology, Business & Economics, Communication, Computers & Technology, Criminal Justice, Earth Science, Education, English & Language Arts, Environmental Science, Geography, Health & Medicine, History, Mathematics, Music & Dance, Philosophy & Religion, Physical Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and World Languages. Access also includes an Archival Films & Newsreels Collection.

HistoryMakers - Not productions, but an extensive video oral history collection of prominent African Americans. Upon completion, it will include 5,000 interviews. Each interview is divided into several “stories,” video clips that describe a particular life event. The HistoryMakers are from all regions of the United States, were prominent in a wide variety of fields, and tell stories that span the twentieth century.

Kanopy - provides a streaming platform and a broad catalog of over 26,000 streaming videos to choose from, representing more than 800 leading producers. Includes documentaries, full-length feature films from the Criterion Collection, and a wide variety of experimental work in the arts on film.

Swank Digital Campus - offers 1,000 selected feature films and documentaries produced by major Hollywood and independent studios. Films are licensed for individual student, staff and classroom use but do not include public performance rights.

 

Free Resources

There are a vast array of free video resources out there... from libraries and archives that are digitizing their holdings, to performance venues and performing ensembles that are also putting their performances online, to collaborative websites that act as portals and archives in and of themselves. Other sites work as collators of access to many of these. Here are just a few.

Dance Heritage Coalition - a national alliance of institutions holding significant collections of materials documenting the history of dance. Its mission is to preserve, make accessible, enhance and augment the materials that document the artistic accomplishments in dance of the past, present, and future.

Europeana - Europeana enables people to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. It promotes discovery and networking opportunities in a multilingual space where users can engage, share in and be inspired by the rich diversity of Europe's cultural and scientific heritage.

PBS retains many of their videos in series like Great Performances and American Masters for free streaming online for three and four, or more years. However, they have recently changed their streaming service and many things that used to be available are now limited. So what you can watch will depend on where you live and what your local stations show.

Jacob's Pillow Dance Interactive from the JP Archives has clips of remarkable dancers and online exhibitions.

The Library of Congress has an incredible collection of resources and they are digitizing things on  a regular basis. An example is this Katherine Dunham collection that includes video of dancers working in her studio.

The Royal Opera House, which includes the Royal Ballet, has a YouTube channel with interviews, scenes from productions, you can even watch the entire 2016 World Ballet Day class.

The New York Public Library has digitized an amazing collection of very early dance video.

Jerome Robbins Dance Division Moving Image Archive is a virtual space for dance enthusiasts and researchers alike to browse, search, compare, and comment on dance videos and images - then share their discoveries with others!

 

The Space - A collaborative endeavour that was re-launched in June 2014 to change how people experience the arts, and give artists space to innovate and experiment. The Space Collection is just beginning to be rebuilt, some of the original content will return, but they are always looking for new content. From Shakespeare to the Scissor Sisters, Tracey Emin to Turner, Hitchcock to Hirst, The Space Collection includes music, film, theatre, dance, literature, festivals and much more – including full length performances, rare arts films, behind-the-scenes insights, context and innovation.

Streaming Audio

 

UWM Subscribes to 3 commercial services 

Another excellent, though currently sort of limited, source for free streaming is Magnatune which can be accessed at http://www.magnatune.com, and of course there are also the other services like Spotify & Pandora.

Music, Theatre, & Dance Librarian

Music Library's picture
Music Library
Contact:
GML Building, 2nd Floor East Wing
414-229-5529
Website