Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender People - Archives Dept.
This guide suggests how to use the Archives Department and Special Collections to study local LGBTQ+ history. It provides recommendations for search paths and search tools, and lists some pertinent collections.
Welcome! This guide provides an overview of primary source collections held by UWM Archives and Special Collections. Collections and publications listed in the guide are arranged by subject; use the tabs on the left side of the page to explore our holdings and plan for your visit.
Table of contents:
Home- Find details about this research guide and contact the UWM Archives
Liberation and Activism- This page contains lists manuscript collections related to the Gay Liberation Movement and other Civil Rights struggles of Milwaukee's Queer Community.
Lesbian Feminism-This page lists manuscript collections and publications specifically related to the intersections of the Feminist Movement and lesbian activism.
Queer Culture and Community-The collections listed on this page relate to the diversity of LGBTQ+ experiences as well as Queer community organizations.
Digital Collections-This page contains a protal to all of the LGBTQ+ digital collections available through the UWM Libraries. These collections can be used off-campus and is readily accessible to researchers across the globe. Additionally, you'll find links to digital collections created by other organizations. If you're not able to visit the Archives or Special Collections in person, this is the page for you!
Plan Your Visit-Find information about locating the Archives and Special Collections, preparing for your visit, and tips for approaching your primary source research.
Some items you can find in Archives and Special Collections
Safe sex brochure from The Brady East STD Clinic Collection found in the UWM Archives
Examples from the UWM Archives' LGBT Button and Pin Collection
ACT UP flyer from the UWM Archives
Cover of "Gemini Gender Group Journal", found in UWM Libraries Special Collections
Page from "Girlfriends" a zine for trans and gender queer youth found in Special Collections
ACT UP Flyer for HIV/AIDS activism from the UWM Archives