Skip to main content

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender People - Archives Dept.

This guide suggests how to use the Archives Department and Special Collections to study local LGBTQ+ history. It provides recommendations for search paths and search tools, and lists some pertinent collections.

Explore LGBTQ+ Digital Collections at UWM

Search Across All UWM LGBTQ+ Digital Collections

The UWM Archives documents LGBT+ history in Milwaukee, including the Gay and Lesbian Liberation Movement, AIDS activism and healthcare, and marriage equality. Search across our LGBT+ history digital collections to find news footage, photographs, documents, oral histories, and more

Digital Collections Beyond UWM

Digital Transgender Archive
The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Worcester, Massachusetts at the College of the Holy Cross, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than fifty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections.

ONE National Gay and Lesbian Archives
ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives is the oldest active Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning (LGBTQ) organization in the United States and the largest repository of LGBTQ materials in the world. Founded in 1952, ONE Archives currently houses over two million archival items including periodicals, books, film, video and audio recordings, photographs, artworks, organizational records and personal papers. A small subset of this material has been digitized and is available online.

Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP)
QZAP was first launched in November 2003 in an effort to preserve queer zines and make them available to other queers, researchers, historians, punks, and anyone else who has an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities. QZAP is headquartered in Milwaukee.