Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender People - Archives Dept.
This guide suggests how to use the Archives Department and Special Collections to study local LGBTQ+ history. It provides recommendations for search paths and search tools, and lists some pertinent collections.
Make sure you understand your assignment before you pick a general topic
Review finding aids and know which items you want to work with in advance
Familiarize yourself with the Home section of this guide
When you get to the Archives:
It will take 15-30min to get registered and set up with materials--factor this time in when planning your visit
Be prepared to tell Archives staff the collection AND box you'd like to work with
Give yourself enough time to make mistakes and change the direction of your research
For each source you consider, record the collection, call number, box, and folder it came from
When you get home:
Organize your sources and notes, then consider: How are the sources you've found related? What questions do you still have? What details ar you still fuzzy on? What sources could you consult to answer those questions?
Jot down notes about which folders/items you still want to review
When in doubt-->Ask an Archivist: ASKARCH@UWM.EDU
Visiting the Archives?
The Archives are open 8-4:30 Monday-Friday. When classes are in session we offer extended hours on Wednesdays when we're open from 8-6:30. Our reading room is located on the second floor of the Golda Meir Library in Room W250; to get here, take the main stairs up to the second floor, go through the first set of double doors on your right, and we will be right there. You can also take the main elevator to the 2nd floor; it will drop you off right across from our office.
The Archives office is NOT OPEN ON WEEKENDS
Have Questions? Contact the archives at firstname.lastname@example.org or (414)-229-5402
Special Collections is open to the public 10am-5pm, Monday - Friday, and is located on the 4th floor of the Golda Meir Library. Take the main elevator across from the Grind to the 4th floor, then walk past the exhibit cases to the end of the hall.
No appointment is necessary to use the collections during our walk-in hours. Special Collection is NOT OPEN ON WEEKENDS
Have questions? Contact special Collections at email@example.com, or at (414) 229-4345.