The IIIF Image API specifies a web service that returns an image in response to a standard HTTP or HTTPS request. The URI can specify the region, size, rotation, quality characteristics and format of the requested image. A URI can also be constructed to request basic technical information about the image to support client applications. This API was conceived of to facilitate systematic reuse of image resources in digital image repositories maintained by cultural heritage organizations. It could be adopted by any image repository or service, and can be used to retrieve static images in response to a properly constructed URI.
Image API URI formula:
https://[CONTENTdm Server Address]/digital/iiif/[Digital Collection ID]/[Item ID]/full/pct:10/0/default.jpg
Information you will need to fill into the formula:
Let's use an item in our digital collection as the example.
https://collections.lib.uwm.edu/digital/collection/mke-polonia/id/33962
The IIIF Image API call will be
https://cdm17272.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/iiif/mke-polonia/33962/full/max/0/default.jpg
https://cdm17272.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/iiif/mke-polonia/33962/full/pct:10/0/default.jpg
Information you will need are
x represents the number of pixels from the 0 position on the horizontal axis. The value of y represents the number of pixels from the 0 position on the vertical axis. Thus the x,y position 0,0 is the upper left-most pixel of the image. w represents the width of the region and h represents the height of the region in pixels. 
Width: https://cdm17272.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/iiif/mke-polonia/33962/full/500,/0/default.jpg
Height: https://cdm17272.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/iiif/mke-polonia/33962/full/,500/0/default.jpg
Percentage: https://cdm17272.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/iiif/mke-polonia/33962/full/pct:20/0/default.jpg
Width & Height: https://cdm17272.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/iiif/mke-polonia/33962/full/800,100/0/default.jpg
Notes: You can combine the region and size together and see what happens.
Orignal: https://cdm17272.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/iiif/mke-polonia/33962/full/pct:15/0/default.jpg
Rotate 25 degree: https://cdm17272.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/iiif/mke-polonia/33962/full/pct:15/25/default.jpg
Rotate 90 degree: https://cdm17272.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/iiif/mke-polonia/33962/full/pct:15/90/default.jpg
Up side down: https://cdm17272.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/iiif/mke-polonia/33962/full/pct:15/180/default.jpg
Back to orignal: https://cdm17272.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/iiif/mke-polonia/33962/full/pct:15/360/default.jpg
Notes: The degrees of clockwise rotation from 0 up to 360.
/ region / size / rotation /
https://cdm17272.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/iiif/mke-polonia/33962/info.json
{
"@context": "http://iiif.io/api/image/2/context.json",
"@id": "https://cdm17272.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/iiif/mke-polonia/33962",
"height": 4512,
"width": 6340,
"profile": [
"http://iiif.io/api/image/2/level1.json"
],
"protocol": "http://iiif.io/api/image",
"tiles": [
{
"scaleFactors": [
1,
2,
4,
8,
16
],
"width": 1024
}
],
"sizes": [
{
"width": 6340,
"height": 4512
},
{
"width": 3170,
"height": 2256
},
{
"width": 1585,
"height": 1128
},
{
"width": 793,
"height": 564
},
{
"width": 396,
"height": 282
}
]
}
The objective of the IIIF Presentation API is to provide the information necessary to allow a rich, online viewing environment for compound digital objects to be presented to a human user, often in conjunction with the IIIF Image API.
Implementations of the IIIF Presentation API will be able to:
Presentation API URI formula:
https://[CONTENTdm Server Address]/iiif/info/[Digital Collection ID]/[Item ID]/manifest.json
Information you will need to fill into the formula:
https://cdm17272.contentdm.oclc.org/iiif/info/mke-polonia/33962/manifest.json
The JSON file contains brieftly two parts of the descripted image, the metadata of the image and other information about the canvases, struture, and annotations of the image.
{
"@context": "http://iiif.io/api/presentation/2/context.json",
"@type": "sc:Manifest",
"@id": "https://cdm17272.contentdm.oclc.org/iiif/info/mke-polonia/33962/manifest.json",
"label": "Damaged Blochowiak Dairy Co. wagon on street corner",
"metadata": [
{
"label": "Title",
"value": "Damaged Blochowiak Dairy Co. wagon on street corner"
},
{
"label": "Photographer",
"value": "Kwasniewski, Roman B.J., 1886-1980"
},
{
"label": "Date",
"value": "01/31 [1925]"
},
{
"label": "Address",
"value": "Intersection of S 13th St and Hayes Ave"
},
{
"label": "City",
"value": "Milwaukee"
},
{
"label": "State",
"value": "Wisconsin"
},
{
"label": "Description",
"value": "Photograph taken to document vehicle accident."
},
{
"label": "Photographer's Note",
"value": "Blochowiak Dairy Co.; \"Accident at Hayes and 8\" / Wagon On Ne Corner, Hit from Se Corner"
},
{
"label": "Rights",
"value": "http://uwm.edu/libraries/digital-collections/copyright-digcoll/"
},
{
"label": "Subject Term (TGM)",
"value": "City & town life; Transportation; Vehicles; Traffic accidents; Carts & wagons"
},
{
"label": "Subject Term (Local)",
"value": "Urban scenes -- Transportation -- Insurance photos of wrecks and injuries"
},
{
"label": "Topic Code",
"value": "14C2"
},
{
"label": "Item Number",
"value": "24033"
},
{
"label": "Job Number",
"value": "24033"
},
{
"label": "Type (DCMI)",
"value": "Still Image"
},
{
"label": "Quantity",
"value": "4"
},
{
"label": "Original Item Medium",
"value": "Glass negatives"
},
{
"label": "Original Item Size",
"value": "5 x 7 in."
},
{
"label": "Original Item Location",
"value": "UWM Manuscript Collection 19. Box 154"
},
{
"label": "Original Collection",
"value": "Roman B.J. Kwasniewski Photographs"
},
{
"label": "Repository",
"value": "Archives. University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries"
},
{
"label": "Digital ID",
"value": "kw016110"
},
{
"label": "Digital Collection",
"value": "Milwaukee Polonia"
},
{
"label": "Digital Publisher",
"value": "University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries"
},
{
"label": "Repository",
"value": "UWM Libraries Digital Collections"
},
{
"label": "Source",
"value": "From: Damaged Blochowiak Dairy Co. wagon on street corner"
}
],
"attribution": [
"",
"http://uwm.edu/libraries/digital-collections/copyright-digcoll/"
],
"within": "https://cdm17272.contentdm.oclc.org/iiif/info/mke-polonia/manifest.json",
"sequences": [
{
"@id": "https://cdm17272.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/iiif/mke-polonia/33962/sequence/s0",
"@type": "sc:Sequence",
"label": "Damaged Blochowiak Dairy Co. wagon on street corner",
"canvases": [
{
"@id": "https://cdm17272.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/iiif/mke-polonia/33962/canvas/c0",
"@type": "sc:Canvas",
"label": "Damaged Blochowiak Dairy Co. wagon on street corner",
"images": [
{
"@id": "https://cdm17272.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/iiif/mke-polonia/33962/annotation/a0",
"@type": "oa:Annotation",
"motivation": "sc:painting",
"resource": {
"@id": "https://cdm17272.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/iiif/mke-polonia/33962/full/full/0/default.jpg",
"@type": "dctypes:Image",
"service": {
"@context": "http://iiif.io/api/image/2/context.json",
"@id": "https://cdm17272.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/iiif/mke-polonia/33962",
"width": 6340,
"height": 4512,
"tiles": [
{
"width": 6340,
"scaleFactors": [
1,
2,
4,
8,
16
]
}
],
"profile": "http://iiif.io/api/image/2/level1.json",
"protocol": "http://iiif.io/api/image"
},
"format": "image/jpeg",
"width": 6340,
"height": 4512
},
"on": "https://cdm17272.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/iiif/mke-polonia/33962/canvas/c0"
}
],
"width": 6340,
"height": 4512
}
]
}
],
"structures": [
{
"@id": "https://cdm17272.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/iiif/mke-polonia/33962/range/r0",
"@type": "sc:Range",
"label": "Damaged Blochowiak Dairy Co. wagon on street corner",
"ranges": [],
"canvases": [
"https://cdm17272.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/iiif/mke-polonia/33962/canvas/c0"
]
}
]
}
An open-source, web-based viewer for zoomable images, implemented in pure JavaScript.
Initially developed by Digirati for the Wellcome Library, the UV can display most types of digital content, including cover-to-cover books, archives, works of art, video, audio and 3D. It also supports the IIIF Auth and Search APIs.
An open-source, web-based 'multi-up' viewer that supports zoom-pan-rotate functionality, ability to display/compare simple images, and images with annotations. UWM Libraries implemented a local instance of Mirador on our own server. For more details, please check the IIIF Viewer - Mirador page.
We have an Mirador 3 instance implemented on libary's application server. The address is http://liblamp.uwm.edu/IIIF/mirador3.html.
