Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital Collection Toolkit: Home

Digital Collections Toolkit

The UWM Libraries have been digitizing our archival collections since 2002, with over 180,000 digital objects available through our Digital Collections  - and counting! This toolkit provides a guide to tools that extend our digital collections even further. Below, you'll find tools that enable you to build ad hoc digital exhibits, create timelines, develop visual narratives, and more. We'll continue adding to the toolkit and welcome suggestions for additional applications and ideas.

Mirador Viewer

Mirador (http://projectmirador.org) is a web-based digital image viewer that supports deep zoom, analysis, comparison and annotation of high quality cultural heritage images.  It is compatible with the International Image Interoperability Framework (IIIF), and thus has the capability to load and display hundreds of millions of images published on the web by participating IIIF institutions. 

ArcGIS StoryMaps

ArcGIS StoryMaps helps you create narratives that include primary sources, maps, and other media. ArcGIS StoryMaps are part of UWM's ArcGIS software suite of tools (and is distinct from the KnightLab's StoryMapJS). 

 

CONTENTdm API

UWM Libraries Digital Collections can be accessed via API in order to interact with the collection via batch services and other functions. We are actively developing a guide to using the CONTENTdm API to access our Digital Collections. Contact Jie Chen with questions. 

TimelineJS

TimelineJS is an open-source tool that enables anyone to build visually rich, interactive timelines. With no coding needed, beginners can build a timeline using Google spreadsheets. Experts can use JSON to create custom installations, while keeping TimelineJS's core functionality.

StoryMapJS

StoryMapJS is a free cloud-based tool to create "geographic narratives". The online authoring tool enables you to create visual narratives using a Power-Point style template. 

Head, Digital Collections and Initiatives and DH Lab

Ann Hanlon's picture
Ann Hanlon
Contact:
UWM Libraries E157

Information Process Consultant

Jie Chen's picture
Jie Chen
Contact:
DC&I
UWM Libraries