UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Anthropology & Archaeology: Find Video Resources

Find Streaming Video

The Archaeology Channel
The Archaeology Channel (TAC) is a streaming media website brought to you by Archaeological Legacy Institute (ALI). Recognizing that the archaeological record is the legacy of all human beings and dedicated to bringing the benefits of archaeology to a wider constituency, ALI was founded to address a number of critical issues now facing archaeology and its potential beneficiaries.

Ethnographic Video Online
Ethnographic Video Online provides the largest, most comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior with more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion. The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
Docuseek
A collection of independent, social-issue and environmental documentaries. Producers and distributors include Bullfrog, Collective Eye, dGenerate, First Run Features, GOOD DOCS, Icarus, and Women Make Movies.
Film Platform Collection
Innovative collaboration between leading filmmakers and film distributors from around the world bringing the finest documentary films to an academic audience. This global selection of films includes many Oscar nominated documentaries and film festival winners. These titles, chosen for their mastery of filmmaking, introduce new concepts, expose students to fresh perspectives, and enhance classroom discussions
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a streaming video collection of over 25,000 high-quality digital programs and video clips, covering topics in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, business and economics, and health.
Subjects covered include: Anthropology, Area Studies, Art & Architecture, Biology, Business & Economics, Communication, Computers & Technology, Criminal Justice, Earth Science, Education, English & Language Arts, Environmental Science, Geography, Health & Medicine, History, Mathematics, Music & Dance, Philosophy & Religion, Physical Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and World Languages. Access also includes an Archival Films & Newsreels Collection.
Kanopy
Documentaries and feature films for course use. Films cannot be leased for individual recreational viewing. See Kanopy FAQ for more information. Why can't I access some of this content?
Environmental Issues Online
Environmental Issues Online brings together multimedia materials (text, archival, primary sources, video and audio) around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more.

American Folklife Center
Images, sounds, written accounts, and a myriad more items of cultural documentation from the Library of Congress.
National Anthropological Archives and Human Studies Film Archives (Smithsonian Institute)
The materials in the Anthropology collections and Archives reflect thousands of years of human experience. With over 3 million objects, 10,000 linear feet of field notes and manuscripts, nearly 650,000 photographs, over 11,000 sound recordings, and more than 8 million feet of original film and video, it is one of the largest Anthropology collections in the world. Collections include materials from all four subfields of Anthropology – archaeology, biological anthropology, ethnology, and linguistic anthropology. They are used as primary source material and inspiration by visiting artists, members of indigenous communities, and researchers in both anthropology and related fields such as history, folklore, and art history.