UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Anthropology & Archaeology: Find Scholarly Sources

Search in Search@UW

Find articles, UW books, digital collections & media

[Advanced Search]

A video tutorial on searching the library's catalog is available at the bottom of the page

Databases for Anthropology Research

Anthropological Literature
The most comprehensive international resource for the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. It indexes entries in nearly 900 journals and monographic series, covering the late 19th century to the present, PLEASE NOTE: The UWM Libraries has 3 simultaneous users for this service. If you can not access the service please try again later.

AnthroSource
Published by the American Anthropology Association.

eHRAF World Cultures
eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural and ethnographic database that contains descriptive information on all aspects of cultural and social life, including books, journal articles, manuscripts, reports, and dissertations on world cultures. The eHRAF database is organized by cultures and ethnic groups, and every document is subject-indexed at the paragraph level, facilitating precise retrieval within documents.

eHRAF Quick Start Guide

Annual Reviews
Collections of critical reviews highlighting significant research in biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences disciplines. Why can't I access some of this content?
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 journals.
JSTOR
Provides access to journal articles, books, images, and primary sources. Contents include the Artstor image collection, archival and current scholarly journal content, and historical documents.
Project Muse
Provides digital humanities and social sciences content with full text access to 350 journals and select full text access to ebooks. Limit to subscribed full text using the advanced search and selecting, "Only content I have access to". Why can't I access some of this content?
Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,100 journals and 2.47 million records) plus unique full text content. The database includes full text for more than 890 journals.
Web of Science
Web of Science includes citations from the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, BIOSIS Citation Index, Zoological Record, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, and the Derwent Innovation Index. Our Web of Science subscription includes articles published from 1987 to the present; updated weekly. Useful for: systematic reviews, Highly Cited papers, citation metrics

David S. and Ruth L. Gottesman Research Library and Learning Center (American Museum of Natural History)
American Museum of Natural History’s principal repository for published scientific literature and archives.

Databases with North American Focus

Early Encounters in North America: People, Cultures, and the Environment
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment provides full text documents on the relationships among peoples and the environment in North America.
Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience
Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience is a unique database that examines interdisciplinary topics on the African experience throughout the Americas via in-depth essays accompanied by detailed time lines along with important research articles, images, film clips and more. The essays are contributed by leading academic experts who have surveyed and analyzed the most important existing research literature in their respective fields.

Databases for Forensic or Biological Anthropology

Visible Body Suite
An interactive 3D anatomy tool. Includes a human anatomy atlas, comprehensive references for biological concepts and processes, and 3D physiology animations.

A personal account is required to use this resource. If you already have a Visible Body Courseware account, please use a different email address to create a Web Suite account.
PubMed
Over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, open access journals (PMC), and online books and reference sources (Bookshelf). Useful For: systematic reviews, clinical trials, Trending Articles, Cited By
Biological Abstracts
Biological Abstracts provides indexing for over 4,200 journals from the fields of anatomy, bacteriology, behavioral sciences, bioengineering, biotechnology, cell biology, clinical medicine, genetics, immunology, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, pathology, pharmacology, physiology, radiation and systematic biology, toxicology, virology, and zoology.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text contains more than 400,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.
Global Plants
Plant type specimens, reference works, and primary sources. Includes over 3 million high-resolution images from 300+ herbaria around the world.

Call Numbers for Anthropology and Archaeology Books

Below is a list of call number classes to locate Anthropology, Archaeology, and related books in the Golda Meir Library. Subject classes are also shown on the GML floorplans.

Call Number Class	Subject	Location
AM	Museums	3rd floor East
CC	Archaeology	3rd floor East
GF	Human ecology, Anthropogeography	3rd floor West
GN	Anthropology	3rd floor West
GR	Folklore	3rd floor West
GT	Manners and customs (General)	3rd floor West
GV	Recreation, Leisure	3rd floor West
HV6035-6197	Criminal Anthropology	3rd floor West
BL	Religions, Mythology, Rationalism	3rd floor East
K	Law	2nd floor West
M	Music	2nd floor East
N	Art	2nd floor West
RA1001-1171	Forensic Medicine	2nd floor West
S	Agriculture	Lower Level East
TT	Handicrafts, Arts and crafts	Lower Level East
TX	Home economics	Lower Level East

Highlighted Books from the Collection

From Boas to Black Power by Mark Anderson
ISBN: 9781503607286
Publication Date: 2019-05-14
From Boas to Black Power investigates how U.S. cultural anthropologists wrote about race, racism, and "America" in the 20th century as a window into the greater project of U.S. anti-racist liberalism. In this groundbreaking intellectual history of anti-racism within twentieth-century cultural anthropology, Mark Anderson starts with the legacy of Franz Boas and Ruth Benedict and continues through the post-war and Black Power movement to the birth of the Black Studies discipline, exploring the problem "America" represents for liberal anti-racism. From Boas to Black Power provides a major rethinking of anthropological anti-racism as a project that, in step with the American racial liberalism it helped create, paradoxically maintained white American hegemony.
Museums and Archaeology by Robin Skeates (Editor)
ISBN: 9781138026223
Publication Date: 2017-05-08
The volume's balance of theory and practice and its thematic and geographical breadth is explored and explained in an extended introduction, which situates the readings in the context of the extensive literature on museum archaeology, highlighting the many tensions that exist between idealistic 'principles' and real-life 'practice' and the debates that surround these. In addition to this, section introductions and the seminal pieces themselves provide a comprehensive and contextualised resource on the interplay of museums and archaeology. .
Food Culture: Anthropology, linguistics and food studies by Janet Chrzan (Editor); John Brett (Editor)
ISBN: 1789205247
Publication Date: 2019-09-13
This volume offers a comprehensive guide to methods used in the sociocultural, linguistic and historical research of food use. This volume is unique in offering food-related research methods from multiple academic disciplines, and includes methods that bridge disciplines to provide a thorough review of best practices. In each chapter, a case study from the author's own work is to illustrate why the methods were adopted in that particular case along with abundant additional resources to further develop and explore the methods.
Anthropologies of Global Maternal and Reproductive Health by Lauren J. Wallace (Editor); Margaret E. MacDonald (Editor); Katerini T. Storeng (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030845131
Publication Date: 2022-01-12
This open access edited book brings together new research on the mechanisms by which maternal and reproductive health policies are formed and implemented in diverse locales around the world, from global policy spaces to sites of practice. The authors – both internationally respected anthropologists and new voices – demonstrate the value of ethnography and the utility of reproduction as a lens through which to generate rich insights into professionals’ and lay people’s intimate encounters with policy.
Forensic Science and Humanitarian Action, 2 Volume Set by Roberto C. Parra (Editor); Sara C. Zapico (Editor); Douglas H. Ubelaker (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119481966
Publication Date: 2020-03-09
Arranged into five sections, this book addresses the 'management of the dead' across five major areas in humanitarian forensic science: History, Theory, Practice, and Legal Foundation; Basic Forensic Information to Trace Missing Persons; and Stable Isotopes Forensics. Topics covered include: Protection of The Missing and the Dead Under International Law Social, Cultural and Religious Factors in Humanitarian Forensic Science Posthumous Dignity and the Importance in Returning Remains of the Deceased The New Disappeared - Migration and Forensic Science Stable Isotope Analysis in Forensic Anthropology Volume Two covers two further areas of interest: DNA Analysis and the Forensic Identification Process. It concludes with a comprehensive set of case studies focused on identifying the deceased, and finding missing persons from around the globe.
Biological Anthropology of the Human Skeleton by M. Anne Katzenberg (Editor); Anne L. Grauer (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119151616
Publication Date: 2018-10-30
An Indispensable Resource on Advanced Methods of Analysis of Human Skeletal and Dental Remains in Archaeological and Forensic Contexts Now in its third edition, Biological Anthropology of the Human Skeleton has become a key reference for bioarchaeologists, human osteologists, and paleopathologists throughout the world. It builds upon basic skills to provide the foundation for advanced scientific analyses of human skeletal remains in cultural, archaeological, and theoretical contexts. This new edition features updated coverage of topics including histomorphometry, dental morphology, stable isotope methods, and ancient DNA, as well as a number of new chapters on paleopathology. It also covers bioarchaeological ethics, taphonomy and the nature of archaeological assemblages, biomechanical analyses of archaeological human skeletons, and more.
Images of the Past by T. Douglas Price
ISBN: 9781260566253
Publication Date: 2019-04-01
Images of the Past is an introduction to prehistoric archaeology that aims to capture the excitement and visual splendor of archaeology while providing insight into current research methods, interpretations, and theories in the field. Price and Feinman offer a site-by-site survey of prehistory -- covering 80 sites from a variety of times and places around the world and including recent discoveries. This text emphasizes discoveries that produced major insights into prehistory, with the selected sites acting signposts to the past to help students focus on human developments in prehistory and how archaeologists learn about the past
The Oxford Handbook of Historical Ecology and Applied Archaeology by Christian Isendahl (Editor); Daryl Stump (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199672691
Publication Date: 2019-03-11
The Oxford Handbook of Historical Ecology and Applied Archaeology presents theoretical discussions, methodological outlines, and case-studies describing the field of overlap between historical ecology and the emerging sub-discipline of applied archaeology to highlight how modern environments and landscapes have been shaped by humans. Historical ecology is based on the recognition that humans are not only capable of modifying their environments, but that all environments on earth have already been directly or indirectly modified. This includes anthropogenic climate change, widespread deforestations, and species extinctions, but also very local alterations, the effects of which may last a few years, or may have legacies lasting centuries or more.
Maps for Time Travelers by Mark D. McCoy
ISBN: 9780520303164
Publication Date: 2020-05-19
Popular culture is rife with movies, books, and television shows that address our collective curiosity about what the world was like long ago. From historical dramas to science fiction tales of time travel, audiences love stories that reimagine the world before our time. But what if there were a field that, through the advancements in technology, could bring us closer to the past than ever before? Written by a preeminent expert in geospatial archaeology, Maps for Time Travelers is a guide to how technology is revolutionizing the way archaeologists study and reconstruct humanity's distant past. From satellite imagery to 3D modeling, today archaeologists are answering questions about human history that could previously only be imagined. As archaeologists create a better and more complete picture of the past, they sometimes find that truth is stranger than fiction.
The Secret Lives of Anthropologists: lessons from the field by Bonnie L. Hewlett (Editor)
ISBN: 9781138501850
Publication Date: 2019-12-05
This book addresses the difficult conditions researchers may face in the field and provides lessons in how to navigate the various social, political, economic, health, and environmental challenges involved in fieldwork. It also sheds important light on aspects often considered "secret" or taboo. From anthropologists just starting out to those with over forty years in the field, these researchers offer the benefit of their experience conducting research in diverse cultures around the world. The contributions combine engaging personal narrative with consideration of theory and methods. The volume emphasizes how being adaptable, and aware, of the many risks and rewards of ethnographic research can help foster success in quantitative and qualitative data collection. This is a valuable resource for students of anthropological methods and those about to embark on fieldwork for the first time.