Citation Styles
Glossary
Bibliography: A list of sources about a single topic. Each discipline has its own style for creating and formatting bibliographies.
Plagiarism: Using another's words, ideas, or other original work without giving proper credit (usually through citation).
Citation Manager: A web-based tool, such as Zotero, Mendeley or EndNote, that helps you manage citations, create bibliographies, and import references from databases. It can convert stored citations into formatted bibliographies. Formatting styles include APA, Chicago, and MLA as well as specialized formats for academic disciplines and publications.
Works Cited: A list of sources you have cited in your paper.
Ask a Librarian
Make an appointment!
-
UWM Writing CenterThe writing Center here at UWM offers in-person and online help with writing papers and creating bibliographies.
What is a citation?
A citation or reference is the information given in a bibliography or a database about a particular title, which often includes:
- article title or chapter title
- periodical title or book title
- author(s) or editor(s)
- place of publication
- date of publication
- publisher name
- volume/issue (articles) or edition (books)
- page range
- medium of publication
- electronic access (URL or DOI)
- date accessed
Citations give credit to those whose ideas have contributed to your research and give your readers enough information to locate the sources you used. There are many ways to format citations. The style you choose depends on your field and the requirements set by your professor or publisher.