Search PantherCat
Search the library catalog to locate archival and manuscript collections which provide sources on the history of local lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender communities.
There are 2 recommended methods for searching in PantherCat.
1) Use the search box below, already limited to the Archives Dept.'s holdings. Note that the results will include some books on the subject, but more of them will describe archival or manuscript collections.
Use either and, or or not between search terms. Use quotation marks around exact phrases ("coming out").
Here are three examples of keyword searches:
-Lesbian or Lesbians
-Gay and Wisconsin
-Transsexual or Transgender or Transgendered
2) In PantherCat main page, search by subject headings. For example, search for "Gay community" in the Search by: Subject Heading (Keyword) option, while selecting the Quick Limit box as "Archives."
Other commonly used subject headings include:
-AIDS (Disease)
-Gay liberation movement
-Gay activists
A general search hint: when reading any catalog record, follow the links found at "Subjects" to locate other material in the UWM Libraries on that same subject.
Recommended Collections on Local LGBT History
The LGBT collections in the Archives Department provide a unique perspective on the emergence of a gay and lesbian movement in Milwaukee since the late 1960s. Topical strengths of our collections include the gay liberation movement, gays and lesbians in the military, HIV/AIDS, and marriage equality.
A list of significant collections follows. We have many other collections on the general topic, which you may explore by using the search strategies described elsewhere in this guide, or by asking an archivist.
- Gay Peoples Union (GPU) Records Title: Gay Peoples Union Records
Creator: Gay Peoples Union (Milwaukee, Wis.)
Call Number: UWM Mss 240
Abstract: Records of the GPU, the first gay rights organization in Milwaukee and one of the first in the state. - Eldon Murray Papers Title: Eldon Murray Papers
Creator: Murray, Eldon
Call Number: UWM Mss 256
Abstract: Correspondence, photographs, writings, and files dating from 1938 that document his pioneering role in the national movement. - Brady East STD Clinic Records Title: Brady East STD Clinic Records
Creator: Brady East STD Clinic
Call Number: UWM Mss 238
Abstract: Collection documents the clinic from its origin in 1974 to being a statewide leader in the battle against HIV/AIDS by 1990s. - Miriam Ben-Shalom Papers Title: Miriam Ben-Shalom Papers
Creator: Ben-Shalom, Miriam
Call Number: UWM Mss 237
Abstract: Papers of the first gay or lesbian member of the United States military service to be reinstated after being discharged for her sexual orientation. - Milwaukee Gay/Lesbian Cable Network Records Title: Milwaukee Gay/Lesbian Cable Network Records
Creator: Milwaukee Gay/Lesbian Cable Network
Call Number: UWM Mss 206
Abstract: Collection consists of regular and special programming on local LGBT issues, dating from 1987 to 1994. - Mark Behar's Council on Lesbian and Gay Issues Records Title: Mark Behar Papers
Creator: Behar, Mark
Call Number: UWM Mss 216
Abstract: Records of Wisconsin's Council on Lesbian and Gay Issues dating from the 1980s, compiled by Behar.
Search Finding Aids
About the Author |



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait