Curriculum Collection Book Lists: Américas Collection

Curriculum Collection

About the Américas Collection

The Américas Collection is a reference collection containing a complete selection of the winners of the Américas Award. This collection is available for in-house use in the UWM Libraries Curriculum Collection, on the Second Floor East of the Golda Meir Library. 

The Américas Award is an award created by CLASP (Consortium of Latin American Studies Programs)  "to encourage and commend authors, illustrators and publishers who produce quality children’s and young adult books that portray Latin America, the Caribbean, or Latinos in the United States, and to provide teachers with recommendations for classroom use."

For more information on this award, visit the Américas Award website.

Américas Collection Books

Thank you for stopping to look at the Américas Collection!

This page is currently under construction.

If you are looking for circulating (non-reference) or non-circulating (reference) copies, please use the tabs to navigate.

Check back soon for list of this collection sorted by author!

If you need any assistance, feel free to stop by the circulation desk in the Curriculum Library (2nd Floor, East) with any questions! We are always happy to help!

Américas Collection: Circulating (Non-Reference) Copies

All books in the Americas Collection are available for in-house use in the Curriculum Collection (CCM) Reference Area -- these copies can not be checked out.

The following list includes only the Americas books which have additional copies in the Curriculum Collection (unless otherwise indicated). The list is ordered according to the year the Americas Award was received.

The call numbers for these additional copies are noted in Red. 


1993

Castaneda, Omar. S.  Abuela’s Weave.  Americas 1993 C346a / (Pict) C346a

Dorros, Arthur.  Radio Man: a Story in English and Spanish = Don Radio: un Cuento en Ingles y Espanol. 

Americas 1993 D7164r 1993 / 460 D716r

Jenkins, Lyll Becerra de.  Celebrating the Hero.  Americas 1993 J525c / J525c

Mitchell, Rita Phillips.  Hue Boy.  Americas 1993 M6823h / M6823h

Jaramillo, Nelly Palacio.  Las Nanas de AbuelitaCanciones de CunaTrabalenguas y Adivinanzas de Suramerica.

Americas 1994 398.8 N175 1994 / 460 N175


1994

Albert, Richard E.  Alejandro’s Gift.  Americas 1994 A3335a / (Pict) A3335a

Bernhard, Emery.  The Tree That Rains: the Flood Myth of the Huichol Indians of Mexico. 

Americas 1994 398.26 B527t / 398.26 B527t

Bernier-Grand, Carmen T.  Juan Bobo: Four Folktales from Puerto Rico.  Americas 1994 398.2 B528j 1994 / 398.2 B528j

Bunting, Eve.  A Day’s Work.  Americas 1994 B943da 1994 / (Pict) B943da 2010

Castaneda, Omar S.  Imagining Isabel.  Americas 1994 C346i / C346i

Franklin, Kristine L.  When the Monkeys Came Back.  Americas 1994 F832w / F832w

Gershator, Phillis.  Rata-pata-scata-fata: a Caribbean Story.  Americas 1994 G3795r / G3795r

Johnston, Tony.  The Tale of Rabbit and Coyote.  Americas 1994 398.24 J735t 1994 / 398.24 J735t

Ober, Hal.  How Music Came to the World: an Ancient Mexican Myth.  Americas 1994 398.26 O12h / 398.26 O12h

Orozco, Jose-Luis.  De Colores: and Other Latin-American Folk Songs for Children.

 Americas 1994 781.62 O74c / 781.62 O74c

Thomas, Jane Resh.  Lights on the River.  Americas 1994 T458l / (Pict) T458l


1995

Scott, Ann Herbert.  Hi.  Americas 1995 S425h / (Pict) S425h

Nye, Naomi Shihab.  The Tree is Older than You Are: a Bilingual Gathering of Poems & Stories from Mexico with

 Paintings by Mexican Artists.  Americas 1995 861 T786 1995 / 460 T7862

Ancona, George.  Fiesta U.S.A. (English)  Americas 1995 394.2 A542f / 394.2 A542f

Ancona, George.  Fiesta U.S.A. (Spanish)  Americas 1995 394.2 A542fi / 460 A542f

Anzaldua, Gloria.  Prietita and the Ghost Woman.  Americas 1996 A637p 1995 / 460 A637p

Dorros, Arthur.  La Isla.  Americas 1995 D716is / 460 D716i

Dorros, Arthur.  Isla.  Americas 1995 D7164i / (Pict) D7164i

Herrera, Juan Felipe.  Calling the Doves.  Americas 1995 921 H565c 1995 / 460 H565c

Mohr, Nicholasa.  The Song of El Coqui and Other Tales of Puerto Rico.  Americas 1995 398.2 M699s / 398.2 M699s

San Souci, Robert D.  The Faithful Friend.  Americas 1995 398.22 S197fa / 398.21 S197fa

Soto, Gary.  Chato’s Kitchen.  Americas 1995 S7183ck / (Pict) S7183ck

Soto, Gary.  Canto Familiar.  Americas 1995 811.54 S718c / 811.54 S718c

Talbert, Marc.  Heart of a Jaguar.  Americas 1995 T137h 1995 / T137h

Talbert, Marc.  A Sunburned Prayer.  Americas 1995 T137s / T137s


1996

Alphin, Elaine Marie.  A Bear for Miguel.  Americas 1996 A456b / A456b

Belpre, Pura.  Firefly Summer.  Americas 1996 B452f / B452f

Bunting, Eve. Going Home.  Americas 1996 B943go / (Pict) B943go

Jaffe, Nina.  The Golden Flower: a Taino Myth from Puerto Rico.  Americas 1996 398.26 J23g / 398.26 J23g

Jenkins, Lyll Becerra de.  So Loud a Silence.  Americas 1996 J525s / J525s

Kleven, Elisa.  Hooray, a Pinata!  Americas 1996 K648h / (Pict) K648h

Lauture, Denize.  Running the Road to ABC.  Americas 1996 L389r 1996 / (Pict) L389r

Machado, Ana Maria.  Menina Bonita, English.  Nina Bonita: a Story.  Americas 1996 M149n / (Pict) M149n 2001

Martinez, Victor.  Parrot in the Oven: Mi Vida: a Novel.  Americas 1996 M385p / M385p

Mohr, Nicholasa.  Old Letivia and the Mountain of Sorrows.  Americas 1996 398.2 M699o 1996 / 398.2 M699o 1996

Myers, Walter Dean.  Toussaint L’Ouverture: the Fight for Haiti’s Freedom.

Americas 1996 972.94 M996t / 972.94 M996t

Tamar, Erika.  Alphabet City Ballet.  Americas 1996 T153a / T153a

Wing, Natasha.  Jalapeno Bagels.  Americas 1996 W769j / (Pict) W769j


1997

Ada, Alma Flor.  Gathering the Sun: an Alphabet in Spanish and English.  Americas 1997 861.6 A191g 1997 / 460 A191g

Applebaum, Diana Karter.  Cocoa Ice.  Americas 1997 A646c / (Pict) A646c c.1 / (Pict) A646c c.2

Bloom, Valerie.  Fruits: a Caribbean Counting Poem.  Americas 1997 811.8 B655f / 811.8 B655f

Corpi, Lucha.  Where Fireflies Dance.  Americas 1997 C823w 1997 / 460 C823w

Ehlert, Lois.  Cuckoo: a Mexican Folktale = Cucu: un Cuento Folklorico Mexicano.

Americas 1997 398.2 E325c 1997 / 460 E325c

Hanson, Regina.  The Face at the Window.  Americas 1997 H251f / (Pict) H251f

Horenstein, Henry.  Baseball in the Barrios.  Americas 1997 796.357 H811b / 796.357 H811b

Jimenez, Francisco.  The Circuit: Stories from the Life of a Migrant Child.  Americas 1997 813.54 J61c / 813.54 J61c

Kroll, Virginia L.  Butterfly Boy.  Americas 1997 K938bu / (Pict) K938bu

Mora, Pat.  Tomas and the Library Lady.  Americas 1997 M827t / M827t

Orozco, Jose Luis.  Diez Deditos = Ten Little Fingers: & Other Play Rhymes and Action Songs from Latin America.

Americas 1997 782.42 O748d 1997 / 460 O748d

Rahaman, Vashanti.  A Little Salmon for Witness: a Story from Trinidad.  Americas 1997 R147l / (Pict) R147l

Sisnett, Ana.  Grannie Jus’ Come!  Americas 1997 S6232g / (Pict) S6232g


1998

Alarcon, Francisco X.  From the Bellybutton of the Moon and Other Summer Poems.

Americas 1998 811.54 A321f 1998 / 460 A321f

Carling, Amelia Lau.  Mama & Papa Have a Store.  Americas 1998 C2825m / (Pict) C2825m

Cowley, Joy.  Big Moon Tortilla.  Americas 1998 C875b / (Pict) C875b

Luenn, Nancy.  A Gift for Abuelita: Celebrating the Day of the Dead.  Americas 1998 L948g 1998 / 460 L948g

San Souci, Robert D.  Cendrillon: a Caribbean Cinderella.  Americas 1998 398.21 S197c / 398.21 S197c


1999

Alarcon, Francisco X.  Angels Ride Bikes: and Other Fall Poems.  Americas 1999 811.54 A321a 1999 / 460 A321a 1999

Garza, Carmen Lomas.  Magic Windows.  Americas 1999 306.85 G244m 1999 / 460 G244m

Herrera, Juan Felipe.  Crash Boom Love: a Novel in Verse.  Americas 1999 H565cr 1999 

(Circulating copy in Stacks – PS 3558 .E74 C73x 1999)


2000

Delacre, Lulu.  Salsa Stories.  Americas 2000 813.6 D332s / 813.6 D332s

Ryan, Pam Munoz.  Esperanza Rising.  Americas 2000 R9892e / R9892e c.1 / R9892e c.2

Winick, Judd.  Pedro and Me: Friendship, Loss, and What I Learned.  Americas 2000 362.1 W772p / 362.1 W772p /

(additional copy in Stacks RC 607 .A26 W5726 2000)

2001

Freedman, Russell.  In the Days of the Vaqueros: America’s First True Cowboys.  Americas 2001 636.2 F853i / 636.2 F853i


2002

Ada, Alma Flor.  I Love Saturdays y Domingos.  Americas 2002 A1895i / (Pict) A1895i

Alvarez, Julia.  Before We Were Free.  Americas 2002 A473b / A473b

Andrews-Goebel, Nancy.  The Pot that Juan Built.  Americas 2002 738 A566p / 738 A566p

Herrera, Juan Felipe.  Grandma and Me at the Flea = Los Meros Meros Remateros.

Americas 2002 H565g 2002 / 460 H565g


2003

Cofer, Judith Ortiz.  The Meaning of Consuelo.  Americas 2003 C673m 2003 

(Circulating copy in Stacks— PS 3565 .R7737 M43 2003)

Krull, Kathleen.  Harvesting Hope: the Story of Cesar Chavez.  Americas 2003 921 C512k / 921 C512k

Morales, Yuyi.  Just a Minute: a Trickster Tale and Counting Book.  Americas 2003 M828j / (Pict) M828j


2004

Brown, Monica.  My Name is Celia: the Life of Celia Cruz.  Americas 2004 921 C959b 2004 / 460 B8856mc

Cofer, Judith Ortiz.  Call Me Maria: a Novel.  Americas 2004 O776c / O776c

Geeslin, Campbell.  Elena’s Serenade.  Americas 2004 G298e / (Pict) G298e

Medina, Jane.  The Dream on Blanca’s Wall: Poems in English and Spanish = El Sueno Pegado en la Pared de Blanca:

Poemas en Ingles y Espanol.  Americas 2004 811.54 M4905d 2004 / 460 M491d

Russell, Barbara T.  The Remembering Stone.  Americas 2004 R962r / R962r

Ryan, Pam Munoz.  Becoming Naomi Leon.  Americas 2004 R9892b / R9892b

Saenz, Benjamin Alire.  Sammy and Juliana in Hollywood.  Americas 2004 S127s / S127s

Youme.  Selavi, That is Life: a Haitian Story of Hope.  Americas 2004 Y679s / (Pict) Y679s 


2005

Carlson, Lori M.  Red Hot Salsa: Bilingual Poems on Being Young and Latino in the United States.

Americas 2005 811.008 R3125 2005 / 460 R3125

Canales, Viola.  The Tequila Worm.  Americas 2005 C2129t / C2129t c.1 / C2129t c.2

Dorros, Arthur.  Julio’s Magic.  Americas 2005 D7164j / (Pict) D7164j

Garza, Xavier.  Lucha Libre: the Man in the Silver Mask: a Bilingual Cuento.  Americas 2005 G245l 2005 / 460 G245l

Hanson, Regina.  A Season for Mangoes.  Americas 2005 H251s / (Pict) H251s

Herrera, Juan Felipe.  Cinnamon Girl: Letters Found Inside a Cereal Box.  Americas 2005 H565c / H565c


2006

Engle, Margarita.  The Poet Slave of Cuba: a Biography of Juan Francisco Manzano.

Americas 2006 921 M2962e / 921 M2962e

Jaramillo, Ann.  La Linea.  Americas 2006 J371l / J371l

Resau, Laura.  What the Moon Saw: a Novel.  Americas 2006 R429w / R429w


2007/2008

Bernier-Grand, Carmen T.  Frida: Iviva la Vida! = Long Live Life!  Americas 2007-2008 921 K12b / 921 K12b

Brown, Monica.  My Name is Gabito: the Life of Gabriel Garcia Marquez.

Americas 2007-2008 921 G216b 2007 / 460 B8856mg

Deedy, Carmen Agra.  Martina, the Beautiful Cockroach: a Cuban Folktale.

Americas 2007-2008 398.24 D312m / 398.24 D312m

Felin, M. Sindy.  Touching Snow.  Americas 2007-2008 F315t / F315t

Gonzalez, Maya Christina.  My Colors, My World = Mis Colores, Mi Mundo.

Americas 2007-2008 G6437m 2007 / 460 G6437m

Mora, Pat.  Yum! Mmmm! Que Rico!: Americas’ Sproutings.  Americas 2007-2008 811.54 M827y / 811.54 M827y

Morales, Yuyi.  Little Night.  Americas 2007-2008 M828l / (Pict) M828l

Resau, Laura.  Red Glass.  Americas 2007-2008 R429r / R429r


2009

Dole, Mayra L.  Down to the Bone.  Americas 2009 D663d / D663d

Engle, Margarita.  The Surrender Tree: Poems of Cuba’s Struggle for Freedom.

Americas 2009 811.54 E582s 2008 / 811.54 E582s 2008 

Gonzalez, Lucia M.  The Storyteller’s Candle.  Americas 2009 G6436s / 460 G6436s

Manning, Maurie.  Kitchen Dance.  Americas 2009 M2844k / (Pict) M2844k

Morales, Yuyi.  Just in Case: a Trickster Tale and Spanish Alphabet Book.  Americas 2009 M828ji / (Pict) M828ji

Tafolla, Carmen.  What Can You Do with a Rebozo?  Americas 2009 T1241w / (Pict) T1241w


2010

Alvarez, Julia.  Return to Sender.  Americas 2010 A473r / A473r

Bernier-Grand, Carmen T.  Diego: Bigger Than Life.  Americas 2010 921 R621be / 921 R621be

Engle, Margarita.  Tropical Secrets: Holocaust Refugees in Cuba.  Americas 2010 E578t 2009 / E578t 2009

Gonzalez, Maya Christina.  I Know the River Loves Me.  Americas 2010 G6437i 2009 / 460 G6437i 2009

Mora, Pat.  A Pinata in a Pine Tree: a Latino Twelve Days of Christmas.  Americas 2010 782.42 M827p 2009 / 460 M827p

Mora, Pat.  Book Fiesta!: Celebrate Children’s Day/Book Day = Celebremos el Dia de los Ninos/el Dia de los Libros.

Americas 2010 M827b 2009 / 460 M827b

Stork, Francisco X.  Marcelo in the Real World.  Americas 2010 S887m / S887m

Tafolla, Carmen.  What Can You Do With a Paleta?  Americas 2010 T1241wh / (Pict) T1241wh

Winter, Jonah.  Sonia Sotomayor: a Judge Grows in the Bronx = La Juez Que Crecio en el Bronx.

Americas 2010 921 S718w 2009 / 460 W785s


2011

Engle, Margarita.  The Firefly Letters: a Suffragette’s Journey to Cuba.

Americas 2011 813.54 E578f 2010 / 813.54 E578f 2010

Novesky, Amy.  Me, Frida.  Americas 2011 921 K21n 2010 / 921 K21n 2010

Ramirez, Antonio.  Napi Funda un Pueblo.  Americas 2011 R173n 2010 / 460 R1731n 2010

Resau, Laura.  Star in the Forest.  Americas 2011 R429s / R429s

Ryan, Pam Munoz.  The Dreamer.  Americas 2011 R9892d / R9892d

Tafolla, Carmen.  Fiesta Babies.  Americas 2011 T1241f / (Pict) T1241f

Velasquez, Eric.  Grandma’s Gift.  Americas 2011 V434g / (Pict) V434g


2012

Brown, Monica.  Pablo Neruda: Poet of the People.  Americas 2012 921 N454p 2011 / 921 N454p 2011

Conkling, Winifred.  Sylvia & Aki.  Americas 2012 C7516s 2011 / C7516s 2011

Engle, Margarita.  Hurricane Dancers: the First Caribbean Pirate Shipwreck.

Americas 2012 811.54 E582h 2011 / 811.54 E582h 2011

McCall, Guadalupe Garcia.  Under the Mesquite.  Americas 2012 M4779u 2011 / M4779u 2011

Osa, Nancy.  Cuba 15: a Novel.  Americas 2003 O811c 2011 / O811c


2013

Greenwood, Mark.  Drummer Boy of John John.  Americas 2013 921 S5954d 2012 / 921 S5954d 2012

Lake, Nick.  In Darkness.  Americas 2013 L1923i 2012 / L1923i 2012 c.1 / L1923i 2012 c.2

Manzano, Sonia.  The Revolution of Evelyn Serrano.  Americas 2013 M2962r 2012 / M2962r 2012

Saenz, Benjamin Alire.  Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe.

Americas 2013 S127a 2012 / S127a 2012

Burg, Ann E.  Serafina’s Promise: a Novel in Verse.  Americas 2014 B9538s 2013 / B9538s 2013

Dominguez, Angela N.  Maria Had a Little Llama = Maria Tenia una Llamita 

Americas 2014 D6712m 2013 / 460 D6712m 2013


2014

Medina, Meg.  Yaqui Delgado Wants to Kick Your Ass.  Americas 2014 M489y 2013 / M489y 2013

Roth, Susan L.  Parrots Over Puerto Rico. Americas 2014 598.71 R845p 2013 / 598.71 R845p 2013

Thong, Roseanne.  Round is a Tortilla: a Book of Shapes.  Americas 2014 T486ro 2013 / (Pict) T486ro

Américas Collection: Non-Circulating (Reference) Copies

All books in the Americas Collection are available for in-house use in the Curriculum Collection (CCM) Reference Area -- these copies can not be checked out.

The following list includes only the Americas books which do not have additional copies in the Curriculum Collection.

The list is ordered according to the year the Americas Award was received.

 


1991

Palacios, Argentina.  Peineta Colorada, English.  The Red Comb.  Americas 1994 P153r 1991


1993

Atkin, S. Beth.  Voices from the Fields: Children of Migrant Farmworkers Tell Their Stories.

Americas 1994 305.23 V889 1993

Dawson, Mildred Leinweber.  Over Here It’s Different: Carolina’s Story.  Americas 1994 974.7 D272o 1993

Delacre, Lulu.  Vejigante Masquerader.  Americas 1993 D332v 1993

Hodge, Merle.  For the Life of Laetitia.  Americas 1993 H687f 1993

Kendall, Sarita.  Ransom for a River Dolphin.  Americas 1994 K334r 1993

Markun, Patricia Maloney.  The Little Painter of Sabana Grande.  Americas 1993 M3468l 1993


1994

Gunning, Monica.  Not a Copper Penny in Me House: Poems from the Caribbean.  Americas 1994 811.54 G976n

Meyer, Carolyn.  Rio Grande Stories.  Americas 1994 R584 1994

Carlson, Lori M.  Cool Salsa: Bilingual Poems on Growing Up Latino in the United States.

Americas 1994 811.54 C774 1994

Jekyll, Walter.  I Have a News: Rhymes from the Caribbean.  Americas 1994 811 I117 1994

Agard, John.  A Caribbean Dozen: Poems from Caribbean Poets.  Americas 1995 811 C277 1994

Ada, Alma Flor.  Where the Flame Trees Bloom.  Americas 1994 813.54 A191w 1994

Blanco, Alberto.  Angel’s Kite.  Americas 1994 B6415a 1994

Czernecki, Stefan.  The Hummingbirds’ Gift.  Americas 1994 C999h 1994

DePaola, Tomie.  The Legend of the Poinsettia.  Americas 1994 D419l 1994

Gershator, Phillis.  Tukama Tootles the Flute: a Tale from the Antilles.  Americas 1994 398.21 G379t 1994

Gerson, Mary-Joan.  How Night Came from the Sea: a Story from Brazil.  Americas 1994 398.2 G382h 1994

Gonzalez, Lucia M.  The Bossy Gallito = El Gallo de Bodas: a Traditional Cuban Folktale.

Americas 1994 398.2 G6436b 1994

Grossman, Patricia.  Saturday Market.  Americas 1994 G8787s 1994

Joseph, Lynn.  The Mermaid’s Twin Sister: More Stories from Trinidad.  Americas 1994 398.2 J83m 1994

Lessac, Frane.  Caribbean Alphabet.  Americas 1994 421.1 L638c 1994

Livingston, Myra Cohn.  Platero y Yo = Platero and I.  Americas 1994 L786p 1994

Matthews, Sally Schofer.  The Sad Night: the Story of an Aztec Victory and a Spanish Loss.

Americas 1994 972.02 M429s 1994

Merino, Jose Maria.  Tierre del Tiempo Perdido, English.  Beyond the Ancient Cities.  Americas 1994 M562b 1994

Mora, Pat. Pablo’s Tree.  Americas 1994 M827p 1994

Presilla, Maricel E.  Feliz Nochebuena, Feliz Navidad: Christmas Feasts of the Hispanic Caribbean.

Americas 1994 394.26 P934f 1994

Roybal, Laura.  Billy.  Americas 1994 R8889b 1994

Villasenor, Victor.  Walking Stars: Stories of Magic and Power.  Americas 1994 921 V726w 1994

Williams, Karen Lynn.  Tap-tap.  Americas 1994 W7242t 1994


1995

Ada, Alma Flor.  Mediopollito, English & Spanish.  Mediopollito.  Americas 1995 398.2 A191m 1995

Anaya, Rudolfo A.  The Farolitos of Christmas.  Americas 1995 A536f 1995

Bertrand, Diane Gonzales.  Sweet Fifteen.  Americas 1995 B552s 1995

Brusca, Maria Cristina.  When Jaguars Ate the Moon: and Other Stories About Animals and Plants of the Americas.

Americas 1995 398.24 B912w 1995

Brusca, Maria Cristina.  Pedro Fools the Gringo: and Other Tales of a Latin American Trickster.

Americas 1995 398.2 B912p 1995

Ciavonne, Jean.  Carlos, Light the Farolito.  Americas 1995 C566c 1995

Cofer, Judith Ortiz.  An Island Like You: Stories of the Barrio.  Americas 1995 C673i 1995

Crespo, George.  How Iwariwa the Cayman Learned to Share: a Yanomami Myth.  Americas 1995 398.2 C921h 1995

Garland, Sherry.  Indio.  Americas 1995 G2331i 1995

Gerson, Mary-Joan.  People of Corn: a Mayan Story.  Americas 1995 398.2 G382p 1995

Gonzalez, Ralfka.  My First Book of Proverbs = Mi Primer Libro de Dichos.  Americas 1995 398.9 G643m 1995

Gregory, Kristiana.  The Stowaway: a Tale of California Pirates.  Americas 1995 G8218s 1995

Hanson, Regina.  The Tangerine Tree.  Americas 1995 H251t  1995

Hernandez, Irene Beltran.  The Secret of Two Brothers.  Americas 1995 H5569s 1995

Keister, Douglas.  Fernando’s Gift = El Regalo de Fernando.  Americas 1995 K274f 1995

Levy, Janice.  The Spirit of Tio Fernando: a Day of the Dead Story.  Americas 1995 L668s 1995

Mike, Jan M.  Juan Bobo and the Horse of Seven Colors: a Puerto Rican Legend.  Americas 1995 398.2 M636j 1995

Paulsen, Gary.  The Tortilla Factory.  Americas 1995 641.8 P332t 1995

Rojany-Buccieri, Lisa.  The Magic Feather: a Jamaican Legend.  Americas 1995 398.2 R742m 1995

Rossi, Joyce.  The Gullywasher.  Americas 1995 R832g 1995

Shute, Linda.  Rabbit Wishes.  Americas 1995 398.24 S562r 1995

Soto, Gary.  Summer on Wheels.  Americas 1995 S7183su 1995

Temple, Frances.  Tonight, by Sea: a Novel.  Americas 1995 T284t 1995

Torres, Leyla.  Saturday Sancocho.  Americas 1995 T6935s 1995


1996

Hazelton, Hugh.  Jade and Iron: Latin American Tales from Two Cultures.  Americas 1996 398.2 J212 1996

Hallworth, Grace. Down by the River: Afro-Caribbean Rhymes, Games, and Songs for Children.

Americas 1996 811 D748 1996

Charles, Faustin.  A Caribbean Counting Book.  Americas 1996 398.8 C277 1996

Carlson, Lori M.  Barrio Streets, Carnival Dreams: Three Generations of Latino Artistry.

Americas 1996 810.8 B276 1996

Albert, Burton.  Journey of the Nightly Jaguar: Inspired by an Ancient Mayan Myth.

Americas 1996 398.2 A333j 1996

Calhoun, Mary.  Tonio’s Cat.  Americas 1996 C152t 1996

Cooper, Martha.  Anthony Reynoso: Born to Rope.  Americas 1996 921 R466c 1996

Delacre, Lulu.  De Oro y Esmeraldas, English.  Golden Tales: Myths, Legends, and Folktales from Latin America.

Americas 1996 398.02 D338g 1996

Delacre, Lulu.  De Oro y Esmeraldas: Mitos, Leyendas y Cuentos Populares de Latinoamerica.

Americas 1996 398.02 D338d 1996

Delgado, Maria Isabel.  Chave’s Memories = Los Recuerdos de Chave.  Americas 1996 D3518c 1996

Gage, Amy Glaser.  Pascual’s Magic Pictures.  Americas 1996 G133p 1996

Garza, Carmen Lomas.  In My Family.  Americas 1996 306.85 G244i 1996

Geeslin, Campbell.  In Rosa’s Mexico.  Americas 1996 G298i 1996

Gershator, Phillis.  Sweet, Sweet Fig Banana.  Americas 1996 G3795sw 1996

Gollub, Matthew.  Uncle Snake.  Americas 1996 G626u 1996

Huth, Holly Young.  Darkfright.  Americas 1996 H979d 1996

Johnston, Tony.  The Magic Maguey.  Americas 1996 J735m 1996

Johnston, Tony.  My Mexico = Mexico Mio.  Americas 1996 811.54 J735m 1996

Kurtz, Jane.  Miro in the Kingdom of the Sun.  Americas 1996 398.2 K696m 1996

Mora, Pat.  Confetti: Poems for Children.  Americas 1996 811.54 M827c 1996

Schecter, Ellen.  The Big Idea.  Americas 1996 S314b 1996

Soto, Gary.  The Old Man and His Door.  Americas 1996 S7183o 1996

Stanley, Diane.  Elena.  Americas 1996 S787e 1996

Tamar, Erika.  The Garden of Happiness.  Americas 1996 T153ga 1996

Van Laan, Nancy.  La Boda: a Mexican Wedding Celebration.  Americas 1996 V2587b 1996

Winter, Jeanette.  Josefina.  Americas 1996 W7857j 1996


1997

Viesti, Joseph F.  Celebrate! In Central America.  Americas 1997 394.26 V665c 1997

Carden, Mary.  I Am of Two Places: Children’s Poetry.  Americas 1997 811 I114 1997

Carden, Mary.  Soy de Dos Lugares: Poesia Juvenil.  Americas 1997 811 S732 1997

Ada, Alma Flor.  Lagartija y el Sol, English & Spanish.  The Lizard and the Sun.  Americas 1997 398.2 A191l 1997

Alarcon, Francisco X.  Laughing Tomatoes and Other Spring Poems.  Americas 1997 811.54 A321l 1997

Almada, Patricia.  From Father to Son.  Americas 1997 641.8 A444f 1997

Almada, Patricia.  De Padre a Hijo.  Americas 1997 641.8 A444d 1997

Ancona, George.  Mayeros: a Yucatec Maya Family.  Americas 1997 972 A542m 1997

Cappellini, Mary.  Story of Dona Chila, Spanish.  El Cuento de Dona Chila.  Americas 1997 C247c 1997

Cappellini, Mary.  The Story of Dona Chila.  Americas 1997 C247s 1997

Garay, Luis.  Pedrito’s Day.  Americas 1997 G212p 1997

Gonzalez Jensen, Margarita.  El Maravilloso Maiz de Mexico.  Americas 1997 641.3 G643m 1997

Gonzalez Jensen, Margarita.  Mexico’s Marvelous Corn.  Americas 1997 641.3 G643me 1997

Gonzales, Lucia.  Senor Cat’s Romance: and Other Favorite Stories from Latin America.

Americas 1997 398.2 G6436s 1997

Hernandez, Jo Ann Yolanda.  White Bread Competition.  Americas 1997 H557w 1997

Johnston, Tony.  Day of the Dead.  Americas 1997 J735da 1997

Lopez, Loretta.  Birthday Swap, Spanish.  Que Sorpresa de Cumpleanos!  Americas 1997 L8638q 1997

Lopez, Loretta.  The Birthday Swap.  Americas 1997 L8638b 1997

Loya, Olga.  Momentos Magicos = Magic Moments.  Americas 1998 398.2 L923m 1997

Martinez, Floyd.  Spirits of the High Mesa.  Americas 1997 M3845s 1997

Meza Keane, Sofia.  Querida Abuelita.  Americas 1997 M617q 1997

Meza Keane, Sofia.  Dear Abuelita.  Americas 1997 M617d 1997

Moreton, Daniel.  Cucaracha Martina, Spanish.  La Cucaracha Martina: un Cuento Folklorico del Caribe.

Americas 1997 398.02 M845cm 1997

Moreton, Daniel.  La Cucaracha Martina: a Caribbean Folktale.  Americas 1997 398.02 M845c 1997

Sola, Michele.  Angela Weaves a Dream.  Americas 1997 746.1 S684a 1997

Soto, Gary.  Novio Boy: a Play.  Americas 1997 812.54 S718n 1997

Soto, Gary.  Buried Onions.  Americas 1997 S7183b 1997

Stevens, Jan Romero.  Carlos and the Skunk.  Americas 1997 S8439c 1997


1998

Ada, Alma Flor.  Under the Royal Palms: a Childhood in Cuba.  Americas 1998 921 A191u 1998

Ancona, George.  Fiesta Fireworks.  Americas 1998 394.26 A542f 1998

Ancona, George.  Barrio: Jose’s Neighborhood.  Americas 1998 979.4 A542b 1998

Chambers, Veronica.  Marisol and Magdalena: the Sound of Our Sisterhood.  Americas 1998 C448m 1998

Gershator, Phillis.  Greetings, Sun.  Americas 1998 G3795g 1998

Hausman, Gerald.  Doctor Bird: Three Lookin’ Up Tales From Jamaica.  Americas 1998 398.2 H376do 1998

Heide, Florence Parry.  Tio Armando.  Americas 1998 H465to 1998

Isadora, Rachel.  Caribbean Dream.  Americas 1998 I74ca 1998

Jimenez, Francisco.  La Mariposa.  Americas 1998 J614m 1998

Reeve, Kirk.  Lolo and Red-Legs.  Americas 1998 R3312l 1998

Slate, Joseph. The Secret Stars.  Americas 1998 S6309se 1998

Soto, Gary.  Petty Crimes.  Americas 1998 S7183pe 1998

Soto, Gary.  Big Bushy Mustache.  Americas 1998 S7183bi 1998

Torres, Leyla.  Liliana’s Grandmothers.  Americas 1998 T6935l 1998

Van Laan, Nancy.  The Magic Bean Tree: a Legend from Argentina.  Americas 1998 398.2 V259m 1998

Van West, Patricia E.  Crab Man, Spanish.  El Hombre de los Cangrejos.  Americas 1998 V284h 1998

Van West, Patricia E.  The Crab Man.  Americas 1998 V284c 1998


1999

Ancona, George.  Carnaval.  Americas 1999 394.25 A542c 1999

Belafonte, Harry.  Island in the Sun.  Americas 1999 782.42 B425i 1999

Chin-Lee, Cynthia.  A is for the Americas.  Americas 1999 970 C539a 1999

Holtwijk, Ineke.  Engelen van Het Asfalt, English.  Asphalt Angels.  Americas 1999 H7588a 1999

Holzwarth, Werner.  Ich Heisse Jose und Bin Ziemlich Okay! English.  I’m Jose and I’m Okay: Three Stories from Bolivia.

Americas 1999 H762i 1999

Madrigal, Antonio Hernandez.  Erandi’s Braids.  Americas 1999 M182e 1999

Rodriguez, Luis J.  It Doesn’t Have to Be This Way: a Barrio Story.  Americas 1999 R697i 1999

Taylor, Harriet Peck.  Two Days in May.  Americas 1999 T242t 1999

Wolf, Bernard.  Cuba: After the Revolution.  Americas 1999 972.91 W853c 1999


2000

Anaya, Rudolfo A.  Roadrunner’s Dance.  Americas 2000 A536r 2000

Ancona, George.  Cuban Kids.  Americas 2000 972.91 A542c 2000

Castillo, Ana.  My daughter, my son, the eagle, the dove: an Aztec Chant.  Americas 2000 398.2 C348my 2000

Castillo, Ana.  My daughter, my son, the eagle, the dove, Spanish.  Mi Hija, Mi Hijo, el Aguila, la Paloma: un Canto Azteca.

Americas 2000 398.26 C348m 2000

Jimenez, Francisco.  The Christmas Gift = El Regalo de Navidad.  Americas 2000 J614c 2000

Joseph, Lynn.  The Color of My Words.  Americas 2000J828c 2000

Perez, Amanda Irma.  My Very Own Room.  Americas 2000 P437m 2000

Skarmeta, Antonio.  Composicion, English.  The Composition.  Americas 2000 S627c 2000


2001

Alarcon, Francisco X.  Iguanas in the Snow and Other Winter Poems.  Americas 2001 811.54 A321i 2001

Ancona, George.  Harvest.  Americas 2001 331.5 A542h 2001

Argueta, Jorge.  A Movie in My Pillow: Poems.  Americas 2001 861.6 A694m 2001

Galindo, Mary Sue.  Icy Watermelon.  Americas 2000 G158i 2001

Jimenez, Francisco.  Breaking Through.  Americas 2001 J614b 2001

Johnston, Tony.  Uncle Rain Cloud.  Americas 2001 J735u 2001

Leiner, Katherine.  Mama Does the Mambo.  Americas 2001 L5298m 2001

Saldana, Rene.  The Jumping Tree: a Novel.  Americas 2001 S162j 2001


2002

Lee, Claudia M.  Messengers of Rain and Other Poems from Latin America.  Americas 2002 861 M584 2002

Lee, Claudia M.  Mandaderos de la Lluvia y Otros Poemas de America Latina.  Americas 2002 861 M272 2002

Danicat, Edwidge.  Behind the Mountains.  Americas 2002 D193b 2002

Machado, Ana Maria.  Bisa Bea, Bisa Bel, English.  Me in the Middle.  Americas 2002 M149m 2002

Mora, Pat.  A Library for Juana: the World of Sor Juana Ines.  Americas 2002 921 J899m 2002

Perez, Amanda Irma.  My Diary from Here to There.  Americas 2002 P437my 2002

Veciana-Suarez, Ana.  Flight to Freedom.  Americas 2002 V412f 2002

Winter, Jonah.  Frida.  Americas 2002 921 K12w 2002


2003

Ancona, George.  Murals: Walls that Sing.  Americas 2003 751.7 A542m 2003

Argueta, Jorge.  Xochitl and the Flowers.  Americas 2003 A694x 2003

Comino, Sandra.  Casita Azul, English.  The Little Blue House.  Americas 2003 C733l 2003

Endredy, James.  The Journey of Tunuri and the Blue Deer: a Huichol Indian Story.  Americas 2003 398.2 E566j 2003

Soto, Gary.  The Afterlife.  Americas 2003 S7183a 2003


2004

Anaya, Rudolfo A.  The Santero’s Miracle: a Bilingual Story.  Americas 2004 A536s 2004


2005

Carling, Amelia Lau.  Sawdust Carpets, Spanish.  Alfombras de Aserrin.  Americas 2005 C2825a  2005

Carling, Amelia Lau.  Sawdust Carpets.  Americas 2005 C2825s 2005

Marcantonio, Patricia Santos.  Red Ridin’ in the Hood: and Other Cuentos.  Americas 2005 M313r 2005

Winter, Joseph.  Roberto Clemente: Pride of the Pittsburgh Pirates.  Americas 2005 921 C626wi 2005


2006

Abraham, Susan Gonzales.  Surprising Cecilia.  Americas 2006 A159s 2006

Argueta, Jorge.  Talking with Mother Earth: Poems.  Americas 2006 861.6 A694t 2006

Argueta, Jorge.  La Fiesta de las Tortillas.  Americas 2006 A694f 2006

Cardenas Angulo, Teresa.  Cartas al Cielo, English.  Letters to My Mother.  Americas 2006 C2656l 2006

Durbin, William.  El Lector.  Americas 2006 D953l 2006

Elvgren, Jennifer Riesmeyer.  Josias, Hold the Book.  Americas 2006 E518j 2006

Hobbs, Will.  Crossing the Wire.  Americas 2006 H682cr 2006

Lopez, Lorraine.  Call Me Henri: a Novel.  Americas 2006 L8638c 2006

Menchu, Rigoberta.  The Honey Jar.  Americas 2006 398.2 M536h 2006

Norman, Lissette.  My Feet Are Laughing.  Americas 2006 N8424m 2006

Ramirez, Antonio.  Napi va a la Montana, English.  Napi Goes to the Mountain.  Americas 2006 R173na 2006

Ray, Deborah Kogan.  To Go Singing Through the World: the Childhood of Pablo Neruda.  Americas 2006 921 N454r 2006

Soto, Gary.  My Little Car = Mi Carrito.  Americas 2006 S7183m 2006

Stork, Francisco X.  Behind the Eyes.  Americas 2006 S887b 2006


2007-2008

Amado, Elisa.  Tricycle.  Americas 2007-2008 A482t 2007

Ancona, George.  Capoeira: Game! Dance! Martial Art!  Americas 2007-2008 793.3 A542c 2007

Argueta, Jorge.  Alfredito Flies Home.  Americas 2007-2008 A694a 2007

Argueta, Jorge.  Alfredito Regresa Volando a su Casa.  Amricas 2007-2008 A694al 2007

Cardenas Angulo, Teresa.  Perro Viejo, English.  Old Dog.  Americas 2007-2008 C2656o 2007

Costales, A. (Amy)  Abuelita, Full of Life.  Americas 2007-2008 C837a 2007

Deedy, Carmen Agra.  Martina the Beautiful Cockroach, Spanish.  Martina, una Cucarachita Muy Linda: un Cuento Cubano.

Americas 2007-2008 398.24 D312ma 2007

Ellis, Deborah.  Sacred Leaf.  Americas 2007-2008 E472s 2007

Elya, Susan Middleton.  N is for Navidad.  Americas 2007-2008 E5238n 2007

Flores-Galbis, Enrique.  Raining Sardines.  Americas 2007-2008 F634r 2007

Lane, Kimberly.  Come Look with Me: Latin American Art.  Americas 2007-2008 709.8 L265c 2007

Morales, Yuyi.  Little Night, Spanish.  Nochecita.  Americas 2007-2008 M828no 2007

Nazoa, Aquiles.  Retablillo de Navidad, English.  A Small Nativity.   Americas 2007-2008 N336s 2007

Perez, Amada Irma.  Nana’s Big Surprise.  Americas 2007-2008 P437n 2007

Picayo, Mario.  A Caribbean Journey from A to Y: (Read and Discover What Happened to the Z)

Americas 2007-2008 972.9 P586c 2007

Rivera-Ashford, Roni Capin.  Hip, Hip, Hooray, It’s Monsoon Day! = Ajua, ya Llego el Chubasco!

Americas 2007-2008 R622h 2007

Winter, Jeanette.  Angelina’s Island.  Americas 2007-2008 W7857a 2007


2009

Carlson, Lori M.  Voices in First Person: Reflections on Latino Identity.  Americas 2009 V889 2008

Andricain, Sergio.  Arco Iris de Poesia: Poemas de las Americas y Espana.  Americas 2009 861 A675 2008

Alarcon, Francisco X.  Animal Poems of the Iguazu.  Americas 2009 811.54 A321an 2008

Doak, Robin S. (Robin Santos)  Dolores Huerta: Labor Leader and Civil Rights Activist.  Americas 2009 921 H887d 2008

Durango, Julia.  The Walls of Cartagena.  Americas 2009 D949w 2008

Haugen, Brenda.  Cesar Chavez: Crusader for Social Change.  Americas 2009 921 C512h 2008

Hayes, Joe.  Dance, Nana, Dance = Baila, Nana, Baila: Cuban Folktales in English and Spanish.

Americas 2009 398.2 H417d 2008

Hijuelos, Oscar.  Dark Dude.  Americas 2009 H639d 2008

Jimenez, Francisco.  Reaching Out.  Americas 2009 J614r 2008

Lazaro Leon, Georgina.  Pablo.  Americas 2009 921 N454l 2008

Martinez, Claudia Guadalupe.  The Smell of Old Lady Perfume.  Americas 2009 M384s 2008

Menchu, Rigoberta.  The Secret Legacy.  Americas 2009 398.2 M536s 2008

Rahaman, Vashanti.  Divali Rose.  Americas 2009 R147d 2008

Saenz, Benjamin Alire.  He Forgot to Say Goodbye.  Americas 2009 S127h 2008

Saenz, Benjamin Alire.  A Perfect Season for Dreaming = Un Tiempo Perfecto Para Sonar.  Americas 2009 S127p 2008

Soto, Gary.  Facts of Life: Stories.  Americas 2009 S7183f 2008

Suvanjieff, Ivan.  PeaceJam: a Billion Simple Acts of Peace.  Americas 2009 303.6 S967p 2008

Whelan, Gloria.  The Disappeared.  Americas 2009 W5568d 2008

Alvarez, Julia.  El Mejor Regalo del Mundo: la Leyenda de La Vieja Belen.  Americas 2009 398.2 A473m 2009


2010

Argueta, Jorge.  Sopa de Frijoles: un Poema Para Cocinar.  Americas 2010 861.6 A694s 2009

Brown, Monica.  Pele, King of Soccer = Pele, el Rey del Futbol.  Americas 2010 921 P382b 2009

Campos, Maria de Fatima.  Victoria Goes to Brazil.  Americas 2010 918.1 C198v 2009

Colato Lainez, Rene.  Rene Has Two Last Names.  Americas 2010 C683r 2009

Contreras, Kathleen.  Braids.  Americas 2010 C764b 2009

De la Pena, Matt.  We Were Here.  Americas 2010 D338w 2009

Iyengar, Malathi Michelle.  Tan to Tamarind: Poems About the Color Brown.  Americas 2010 811.6 I97t 2009

Johnson, LouAnne.  Muchacho: a Novel.  Americas 2010 J677m 2009

Johnston, Tony.  My Abuelita.  Americas 2010 J735my 2009

Lazaro Leon, Georgina.  Jorge Luis Borges.  Americas 2010 921 B732l 2009

Lopez, Diana.  Confetti Girl.  Americas 2010 L8636c 2009

Mann, Charles C.  Before Columbus: the Americas of 1491.  Americas 2010 970.01 M282b 2009

McNelly McCormack, Caren.  The Fiesta Dress: a Quinceanera Tale.  Americas 2010 M4794f 2009

Miller-Lachmann, Lyn.  Gringolandia: a Novel.  Americas 2010 M653g 2009

Pellegrino, Marjorie White.  Journey of Dreams.  Americas 2010 P387j 2009

Rivera Marin, Guadalupe.  My Papa Diego and Me: Memories.  Americas 2010 921 R621m 2009

Vega, Denise.  Grandmother, Have the Angels Come?  Americas 2010 V422g 2009


2011

Alvarez, Julia.  How Tia Lola Learned to Teach.  Americas 2011 A473ho 2010

Ancona, George.  iOle! Flamenco.  Americas 2011 793.3 A542o 2010

Argueta, Jorge.  Arroz con Leche: un Poema Para Cocinar.  Americas 2011 861.6 A694a 2010

Colato Lainez, Rene.  From North to South.  Americas 2011 C683f 2010

Danticat, Edwidge.  Eight Days: a Story of Haiti.  Americas 2011 D193e 2010

Mora, Pat.  Dizzy in Your Eyes: Poems About Love.  Americas 2011 811.54 M827d 2010

Perdomo, Willie.  Clemente!  Americas 2011 921 C626p 2010

Stavans, Ilan.  Cesar Chavez: a Photographic Essay.  Americas 2011 921 C512s 2010

Stork, Francisco X.  The Last Summer of the Death Warriors.  Americas 2011 S887l 2010

Tonatiuh, Duncan.  Dear Primo: a Letter to My Cousin.  Americas 2011 T664d 2010

Winter, Jeanette.  Biblioburro: a True Story from Columbia.  Americas 2011 921 S712w 2010


2012

Resau, Laura.  The Queen of Water.  Americas 2012 R429q 2011


2013

Schmidt, Gary D.  Martin de Porres: the Rose in the Desert.  Americas 2013 271.2 S351m 2012


2014

Brown, Monica.  Tito Puente, Mambo King = Tito Puente, Rey del Mambo.  Americas 2014 921 P9775b 2013

Engle, Margarita.  The Lightning Dreamer: Cuba’s Greatest Abolitionist.  Americas 2014 921 G6332e 2013

Nazario, Sonia.  Enrique’s Journey: the True Story of a Boy Determined to Reunite with His Mother.

Americas 2014 302.23 N335e 2013

Rubin, Susan Goldman.  Diego Rivera: an Artist for the People.  Americas 2014 921 R621r 2013

Tonatiuh, Duncan.  Pancho Rabbit and the Coyote: a Migrant’s Tale.  Americas 2014 T664p 2013

 

Loading