UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: WGS Instructor Guide: Using the Library

WGS Specific Resources

Databases
Streaming Video

Women's and Gender Studies Databases

GenderWatch
GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
Women's Studies International
Women's Studies International is a composite of ten contributing databases covering women's studies, women's issues, and gender-focused scholarship from throughout the world. Corresponds to Women's Studies Abstracts (1984-); New Books on Women & Feminism (1987-); Women of Color and Southern Women 1975-1988, and annual supplements (1989-); WAVE: Women's Audiovisuals in English: A Guide to Nonprint Resources in Women's Studies, and other databases and print publications. It indexes journal articles, books, book reviews, and audiovisual materials relating to women's studies, women's issues, and gender-focused scholarship.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch incorporates both current Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, providing a full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 330 titles, from 1959 to current. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.

Find WGS Streaming Video

Visit the Library Resources for Online Instruction guide for instructions on how to embed library streaming video content into your Canvas site.

Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a streaming video collection of over 25,000 high-quality programs and video clips covering topics in the humanities, social sciences, business and economics, and health. Films on Demand is already integrated into our Canvas LMS.
Filmakers Library Online
Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
Docuseek
A collection of independent, social-issue and environmental documentaries. Producers and distributors include Bullfrog, Collective Eye, dGenerate, First Run Features, GOOD DOCS, Icarus, and Women Make Movies.
HistoryMakers Digital Archive
HistoryMakers Digital Archive is an extensive video oral history collection of thousands of African Americans from a broad range of backgrounds and experiences.
Swank Digital Campus
Swank Digital Campus offers 1,000 selected feature films and documentaries produced by major Hollywood and independent studios. Films are licensed for individual student, staff and classroom use but do not include public performance rights.

Purchase Recommendation Form

Recommend an item for purchase

We welcome purchase recommendations from UWM faculty, staff and students. There are three ways to recommend an item for purchase:

Fill out the web purchase recommendation form
Send an email to libacq@uwm.edu with as much information about the item (title, author, publisher, ISBN/ISSN, etc.) as possible
Send publisher’s catalog or other announcement by mail to: libacq@uwm.edu.

Explore Trial Databases

Trial Databases
Test and provide feedback on trial databases and request databases you'd like to try at our institution.

Access and Request Library Materials

Instructions for signing in to your library account

Your library account allows you to bookmark search results, view request options, and access materials from off campus.
Signing in requires that your browser accept cookies. (See How to Enable Cookies if you need to restore this setting.)

1. Search for the item in WorldCat. You will use the WorldCat Record details to fill out the Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) form later in the process.

2. Sign into your Interlibrary Loan Account using your ePanther ID and password.

3. Once logged into your account, select a request form from the menu in the upper left.
Main Interlibrary loan menu: Select a New Request.

4. Copy and paste the item details from the WorldCat record or manually enter it from the item's citation into the appropriate ILLiad request form. Fill out all the required fields, this will speed up the process. Please paste the URL of the item in the notes field.

Tip: You can use a DOI number to fill in an Interlibrary loan request form. Paste the full DOI into the top box in the Interlibrary loan article request form, and then click “Resolve DOI." This will auto-fill the form with the details for the item you’re requesting. Screnshot of "resolve doi" field at the top of an Article Request form

A screen grab of an autofilled ILLiad form.

In general, interlibrary loan requests take between 2-3 days for articles and 10-14 days to fill books. Some requests may take longer.

WGS Instructor Guide

Library News

Library News and Announcements