UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Social Work 270 &amp; 750: Social Welfare Policy Development and Implementation: Find Legislative and Policy Development Resources

Congressional & Legal Research Resources

ProQuest Congressional
ProQuest Congressional provides access to historical and current Congressional information and publications on all aspects of legislation dealing with life and public policy. Topics include scientific undertakings, historical events, social welfare, economic conditions, communication policies, and an endless array of other subjects.
The database indexes and provides full-text for Congressional Committee Prints, House and Senate Documents and Reports (Congressional Serial Set), Hearings, and Legislative Histories. It also provides member and committee information and political news, as well as access to the Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, and the Congressional Record (1985-present).
Westlaw Campus Research
Comprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; includes the legal encyclopedia American Jurisprudence 2nd and American Law Reports; case law from 1789 to present; current statutes and regulations.
HeinOnline
Offers extensive access to legal and government materials. Includes Federal Register, U.S. Statutes at Large, U.S. Reports, state session laws, and more. Explore HeinOnline Subject Guides
CQ Researcher Online
CQ Researcher gives reports providing analysis and commentary on current and controversial issues in the news. Topics covered include health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.

Congress.gov
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC’s Congressional Research Service.
LegiScan
LegiScan launched to support the release of the national LegiScan data service, providing the nation's first impartial real-time legislative tracking service designed for both public citizens and government affairs professionals across all sectors in organizations large and small.
Wisconsin State Legislature
Website of the Senate and State Assembly of Wisconsin, which provides details on the legislature agenda, rules, and policy that has been passed.
Wisconsin Legislative Reference Bureau Digital Collections
Government documents published by legislative agencies, legislator press releases, and statutorily mandated reports by Wisconsin state agencies.
WI Lobbying
The Wisconsin Ethics Commission's lobbying website.
GovTrack
GovTrack.us tracks the United States Congress and helps Americans participate in their national legislature. We publish the status of federal legislation, information about your representative and senators in Congress including voting records, and original research on legislation.

Mike Wirth and Dr. Suzanne Cooper-Guasco, CC BY 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

How laws are made - USA.gov
Congress is the lawmaking branch of the federal government. Learn how a bill becomes a law and how the process is different in the House of Representatives and in the Senate.

How a bill becomes a law, Wisconsin State Legislature

Wisconsin Legislative Process
Legislative process in Wisconsin in which bill becomes a law

Writing Policy Letters and Briefs

Writing Policy Briefs - UNC Writing Center
This handout will offer tips for writing effective policy briefs. Be sure to check with your instructor about his/her specific expectations for your assignment.
Writing Effective Op-eds - Duke University
If you can express it clearly and persuasively in an op-ed article, you may reach millions of people, sway hearts, change minds and perhaps even reshape public policy.
Writing Letters to the Editor - Center for Community Health and Development at the University of Kanas
Learn how to write and send effective print and e-mailed letters to editors of various media types, together with examples, that will gain both editorial and reader support.