Social Work 753: Adult Psychopathology

The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013. This latest volume offers a common language for clinicians involved in the diagnosis and study of mental disorders and facilitates an objective assessment of symptom presentations across a variety of clinical settings--inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care.

The Wiley Handbook of Developmental Psychopathology offers a concise, up-to-date, and international overview of the study of developmental psychopathology. Examines the cognitive, neurobiological, genetic, and environmental influences on normal and abnormal development across the lifespan Incorporates methodology, theory, and the latest empirical research in a discussion of modern techniques for studying developmental psychopathology Considers the legal, societal, and policy impacts of changes to diagnostic categories in the light of the transition to DSM-5 Moves beyond a disorder-based discussion to address issues that cut across diagnostic categories

Proven Classic Updated to Reflect the DSM-5   The accessible format, overview chapters on broader issues--such as interviewing--that affect all diagnoses, and case study approach provide the ideal support for students to examine and understand how diagnoses are reached and applied.   Updated to reflect the latest neurobiological advancements in psychopathology, this edition follows the same proven chapter structure for the disorder chapters of previous editions to facilitate readers' understanding and learning.

Comprehensive coverage features a detailed examination of DSM disorders, including description, epidemiology, prevalence, consequences, neurobiological and translational research, treatment, and more, with each chapter written by an experts in the field. Mapped to the DSM-5, each chapter includes clinical case examples that illustrate how psychopathology and assessment influence treatment.

"Rubin and Babbie's ESSENTIAL RESEARCH METHODS FOR SOCIAL WORK provides students with a concise introduction to research methods that offers illustrations and applications specific to the field, as well as a constant focus on the utility of social work research in social work practice. Outlines, introductions, boxes, chapter endings with main points, review questions and exercises, and Internet exercises help students easily find the information and practice they need to succeed in the course.

We designed our book to help graduate social work students through every step of the research process, from conceptualization to dissemination. Our textbook centers cultural humility, information literacy, pragmatism, and an equal emphasis on quantitative and qualitative methods. It includes extensive content on literature reviews, cultural bias and respectfulness, and qualitative methods, in contrast to traditionally used commercial textbooks in social work research

The book develops concrete guidelines for conducting inference to best explanation given incomplete information; no previous exposure to Bayesian analysis or specialized mathematical skills are needed. Topics covered include constructing rival hypotheses that are neither too simple nor overly complex, assessing the inferential weight of evidence, counteracting cognitive biases, selecting cases, and iterating between theory development, data collection, and analysis.

This textbook was created to provide an introduction to research methods for BSW and MSW students. It provides an introduction to social work students to help evaluate research for evidence-based practice and design social work research projects.

This short guidebook provides information about selecting a research topic and research questions, searching for literature, reading and understanding scholarly writing, and writing a literature review to synthesize what is known and what remains to be learned about a social problem.