UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Political Science 417: Supreme Court: Find Government Documents

Find Government Reports

Search or browse the USA.gov departments and agency index to determine which department or agency administers services, policies, and conducts research related to your topic. Look for "library", "resources", "publications" or "research" on agency websites to find reports. You can also perform a targeted Google search outlined on the grey literature page of this guide.

GovInfo
Free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

Congress.gov
MetaLib
MetaLib, a service of the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP), is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
CRS research divisions: American Law; Domestic Social Policy; Foreign Affairs, Defense and Trade; Government and Finance; Knowledge Services; and Resources, Science and Industry.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service Virtual Library
The NCJRS Virtual Library has citations and abstracts to federal, state, and local government documents, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research in the field of criminal justice. Some publications are available in full text.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general keywords, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.
Freedom of Information Act Electronic Reading Room
The FOIA Electronic Reading Room is provided as a public service by the Directorate of Digital Innovation's Information Management Services. Here you can view documents released through the FOIA and other CIA release programs. If you would like to view our previously released documents and collections, visit the Historical Collections page to Browse the Collections.
United States National Archives and Records Administration
National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is America's record keeper. It's the Government agency that not only preserves documents and materials related to the United States but also makes sure people can access the information.
Reports & Publications - Office of the Director of National Intelligence
The core mission of the ODNI is to lead the IC in intelligence integration, forging a community that delivers the most insightful intelligence possible. ODNI’s National Centers integrate and coordinate the activities of the entire IC, or in some cases, broader U.S. Government in the IC’s major mission areas: counterterrorism, counterintelligence and security, counterproliferation, cyberintegration and counterinfluence.

ProQuest Congressional
ProQuest Congressional provides access to historical and current Congressional information and publications on all aspects of legislation dealing with life and public policy. Topics include scientific undertakings, historical events, social welfare, economic conditions, communication policies, and an endless array of other subjects.
The database indexes and provides full-text for Congressional Committee Prints, House and Senate Documents and Reports (Congressional Serial Set), Hearings, and Legislative Histories. It also provides member and committee information and political news, as well as access to the Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, and the Congressional Record (1985-present).

Congressional Budget Office
CBO is strictly nonpartisan; conducts objective, impartial analysis; and hires its employees solely on the basis of professional competence without regard to political affiliation. CBO produces numerous reports with specific options or broad approaches for changing federal tax and spending policies.