Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use OASIS to search for open educational resources you can incorporate in your Canvas course site free of Copyright restrictions.
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a meta-search tool for open educational resources including textbooks, podcasts, simulations, videos and other supplemental learning activities.
Open Supplementary and Interactive Materials
My Open Math
MyOpenMath runs on the open source, IMathAS platform, providing free hosted use of this platform in support of free, open textbooks. The intent is to provide classroom use of the platform, without any required cost to students, for schools wanting a managed install of the IMathAS platform, and to provide students self-study opportunities.
Phet Interactive Simulations
Founded in 2002 by Nobel Laureate Carl Wieman, the PhET Interactive Simulations project at the University of Colorado Boulder creates free interactive math and science simulations. PhET simulations are based on extensive education research and engage students through an intuitive, game-like environment where students learn through exploration and discovery.
Graph functions, plot data, evaluate equations, explore transformations, and much more – for free! Explore math with our free online graphing calculator and networked classroom activities.
Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computer programming, history, art history, economics, and more. Our math missions guide learners from kindergarten to calculus using state-of-the-art, adaptive technology that identifies strengths and learning gaps. We've also partnered with institutions like NASA, The Museum of Modern Art, The California Academy of Sciences, and MIT to offer specialized content.
"Wisc-Online is a repository of high-quality educational learning materials FREE to learners and educators.Wisc-Online offers an ever-growing library of learning objects freely available to students and learners at any level."
Each subject area in LibreTexts contains a mix of content such as texts, homework exercises, interactive applications, visualizations and simulations, laboratory experiments, and worksheets. Although the resource still leans toward the physical sciences, it also carries materials for humanities, mathematics and statistics.
Open Educational Resources Repositories
Openstax give educators and students access to tens of thousands of educational pages, which can be downloaded in the form of preexisting textbooks, or remixed by teachers into a unique collection designed specifically for their classroom.
A collection of open education resources from the Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education (ISKME). Projects, districts, states, and open initiatives make use of Hubs to bring groups of educators together to create, organize, and share OER collections that meet their common goals. A Hub would be the right fit for your organization if you wish to curate and collaborate around OER that is shared with the wider OER Commons audience.
Merlot is a repository of peer reviewed, open access resources designed to aid in teaching, learning, and faculty development. It includes OER instruction and pedagogy resources for faculty & students of higher education from around the world and is maintained by the California State University System.
Open Course Library
A collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments. Materials are licensed under CC BY unless otherwise noted.
Education Resources from the Library of Congress
The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development resources to help teachers use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections.
New Literacies Alliance
A consortial curricular project led by librarians from K-State and KUMC, addressing the new literacies required for academic success and lifelong learning.
OER by Discipline Directory
The BCcampus Open Education OER by Discipline Directory lists a wide range of open educational resources organized by discipline. This directory is updated as new resources are identified.
MIT OpenCourseWare offers full online courses which include insight from instructors, lecture notes, textbook materials, assignments, exams with answers, and multimedia resources. All course content is downloadable.
Harvard Online Learning
Harvard Online Learning offers resources like podcasts, lectures, and interactive educational programs for educators, students, and lifelong learners alike. While many of the available courses and materials are open and free, some are fee-based.
Khan Academy offers courses in a variety of subjects, including math, science, art, economics, and the humanities. It provides short but effective videos, practice problems and tests for users to learn core academic concepts from preschool to high school and beyond. Content is freely available for personal, non-commercial use.
Founded by Harvard and MIT in 2012, edX is now a leading provider of open courses from top universities. Courses include videos, automated feedback, interactive elements, and a community of professors and fellow students. edX is built on an open-source platform and some content is made available under open licenses.
Lumen Learning supports OER adoption at K12 and higher education institutions in order to remove cost as a barrier to education. Lumen contributions to online open courses are licensed under CC BY.
Provides free online classes from 120+ top universities and educational organizations. Content is available for personal, non-commercial use.
Roam- Repository of Open and Affordable Materials
ROAM offers high-quality learning materials written by Penn State faculty, with more than 90 courses entirely online.