UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Open Educational Resources (OER): OER Health Sciences Content

OER Resources

The Open RN Project
The Open RN™ project is funded by a $2.5 million dollar grant from the Department of Education to create five OER Nursing Textbooks with 25 associated Virtual Reality scenarios.
InTech Open- Medicine
An open collection of medical textbooks and articles.
WiscOnline
Wisc-Online is a repository of high-quality educational learning materials FREE to learners and educators. Wisc-Online offers an ever-growing library of learning objects freely available to students and learners at any level.
MERLOT Materials for the Health Sciences
The MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder webpages, together with associated comments, and bookmark collections, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material.
BCcampus's OER by Discipline DIrectory
The BCcampus Open Education OER by Discipline Directory lists a wide range of open educational resources organized by discipline. This directory is updated as new resources are identified and reviewed.
LibreStudio H5P Library
LibreStudio is a free and open platform for creating interactive learning objects using the H5P technology.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
A major US federal agency that works to help people and communities protect their health – through health promotion, prevention of disease, injury and disability, and preparedness for new health threats .
HealthFinder
From the U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, a gateway to selected consumer health information provided by U.S. government agencies, state and local government agencies, not-for-profit organizations, and universities.
Mayo Clinic
Health information from the Mayo Clinic.
MedlinePlus
Authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.
National Library of Medicine Bookshelf
The NML Bookshelf provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.
PublicHealth.org
A collection of resources on topics of nutrition such as diabetes, heart disease, obesity, cancer, and mental illness.

CDC's Public Health Image Library (PHIL)
The PHIL is an extensive collection of still images, image sets, and multimedia files related to public health. Its images and streaming media are freely available to the public for research, teaching, or publication.
Natioanl Institute of General Medical Sciences Image and Video Gallery
This is a searchable collection of scientific photos, illustrations, and videos. The images and videos in this gallery are licensed under Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial ShareAlike 3.0. This license lets you remix, tweak, and build upon this work non-commercially, as long as you credit and license your new creations under identical terms.
National Library of Medicine Digital Collections
Digital Collections is the National Library of Medicine's free online archive of selected books, serials, archives and manuscripts, and film resources.
Open-i
Open access biomedical image search engine made available by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Visible Human Project
The NLM Visible Human Project has created publicly-available complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of a human male body and a human female body.

BioMed Central
An evolving portfolio of some 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine.
Health Policy
Health Policy is intended to be a vehicle for the exploration and discussion of health policy and health system issues and is aimed in particular at enhancing communication between health policy and system researchers, legislators, decision-makers, and professionals concerned with developing, implementing, and analyzing health policy, health systems and health care reforms, primarily in high-income countries outside the U.S.A.
NFS Journal (Society of Nutrition and Food Science)
Publishes high-quality original research articles and methods papers presenting cutting-edge scientific advances as well as review articles on current topics in all areas of nutrition and food science.
Occupational Therapy International
Topics that are appropriate for this journal include reliability and validity of clinical instruments, assistive technology, community rehabilitation, cultural comparisons, health promotion and wellness, surveys of treatment practices, historical reviews and meta-analyses that demonstrate treatment efficacy.
Open Journal of Occupational Therapy
The Open Journal of Occupational Therapy is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal with a mission to publish high quality articles that focus on applied research, practice, and education in the occupational therapy profession.
Public Library of Science
PLOS publishes a suite of Open Access journals across all areas of science and medicine. They are rigorously reported and peer reviewed.
PubMed Central
A free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. PMC is provided by the U.S. National Institutes of Health and the National Library of Medicine.

Open Interactive Resources for the Health Sciences

LibreStudio is a learning object repository with interactive, open-source learning activities that can complement course content in lectures and textbooks and be linked or embedded into your course site. This video demonstrates how to use LibreStudio to find open-access digital learning activities for your discipline and class level.