Modern Languages

This dictionary offers quick and reliable practical guidance in helping users switch competently between English and German. It comprises up-to-date key words and phrases selected and based on expert knowledge in international dictionary research and practice. Successful communication in professional, commercial and personal life depends fundamentally on the mastery of these words and phrases.

This new edition of Practising German Grammar provides you with varied and accessible exercises for developing an in-depth and practical awareness of German as it is spoken and written today. Using lively, authentic texts from a wide range of original sources and offering a variety of new and updated exercises designed to stimulate even the most grammar-shy student, Practising German Grammar will help you to to expand your vocabulary and improve your ability to speak German.

This book provides a detailed introduction to the development of the German language from the earliest reconstructible prehistory to the present day. A key to understanding how any human language works is understanding how that language developed over time. The book is supported by a companion website and is suitable for language learners and teachers and students of linguistics, from undergraduate level upwards.

This second edition of Historical Dictionary of Contemporary Germany provides a comprehensive overview of most aspects of life and institutions in contemporary Germany. It also introduces the reader to the historical development of both East and West Germany between 1949 and 1990, and addresses the various issues arising from reunification. This second edition of Historical Dictionary of Contemporary Germany contains a chronology, an introduction, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 500 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, politics, economy, foreign relations, religion, and culture.

VORSPRUNG: A COMMUNICATIVE INTRODUCTION TO GERMAN LANGUAGE AND CULTURE, 3E uses a unique five-skills approach to help you develop realistic abilities in speaking, listening, reading, and writing German. Utilizing "focus on form" activities, the program presents a systematic, clear introduction to the essentials of German grammar and practices high-frequency structures and vocabulary in interactive activities. It also provides you with cultural knowledge relevant to your own life and then asks you to compare your culture to the habits and behaviors of the German-speaking people of Europe--providing you with a more enriching language experience.

The first major history of Germany in a generation, a work that presents a five-hundred-year narrative that challenges our traditional perceptions of Germany's conflicted past. Tracing the significant tension between the idea of the nation and the ideology of its nationalism, Smith shows a nation constantly reinventing itself and explains how radical nationalism ultimately turned Germany into a genocidal nation. Smith's aim, then, is nothing less than to redefine our understanding of Germany.

The focus of the book is to help readers understand how certain concepts and values influence the way Germans like to do business. It aims at helping students and professionals avoid the common pitfalls that international business people typically step into when dealing with Germans for the very first time.

Beyond Bratwurst delves into the history of German cuisine and reveals the country's long history of culinary innovation. Surveying the many traditions that make up German food today, Heinzelmann shows that regional variations of the country's food have not only been marked by geographic and climatic differences between north and south, but also by Germany's political, cultural, and socioeconomic history. Telling the story of beer, stollen, rye bread, lebkuchen, and other German favorites, the recipe-packed Beyond Bratwurst will find a place on the shelves of food historians, chefs, and spätzle lovers alike.

These authors produce fiction for adults and young people that celebrates the multiplicity of the present, casts a queer eye on the past, and interrogates LGBTQ futures.These outstanding texts exemplify the glittering variety of styles, themes, settings, and subjects addressed by openly queer authors who write in German today.

Seventy-five years after the Holocaust, 100,000 Jews live in Germany. Their community is diverse and vibrant, and their mere presence in Germany is symbolically important. In Rebuilding Jewish Life in Germany, scholars of German-Jewish history, literature, film, television, and sociology illuminate important aspects of Jewish life in Germany from 1949 to the present day.

In the study of the National Socialist State and its aftermath, two unusual aspects continue to occupy historians and social science commentators. First, a factor important enough to enter into the very definition of totalitarianism is the thoroughgoing mobilization, coercive if needed, of the population of writers, teachers, professors journalists and other intellectual workers, securing cooperation - or at the least passive concurrence - in the mass-inculcation of the population in the destructive Fascist ideology. Second is the central place of dissident members of these populations in the exile. Since webs of communications with others, the majority of whom had remained in Germany, had constituted their own memberships in the populations at issue, the question of their roles in the post-war era depended importantly on the ways and means by which they restored - or refused to restore - communications with those who had remained.

Taking Bauhaus' interdisciplinary ethos as a starting point, ten artists from Chicago and Germany were invited to create "A Little Piece of Bauhaus" at the Institut--which thus became an open platform for boundary-transcending artistic dialogues between the "old" and "new" Bauhaus.

This book presents new research on the histories and legacies of the German Expressionist group Blaue Reiter, the founding force behind modernist abstraction. For the first time Blaue Reiter is subjected to a variety of novel inter-disciplinary perspectives, ranging from a philosophical enquiry into its language and visual perception to analyses of its gender dynamics, its reception at different historical junctures throughout the twentieth century and its legacies for post-colonial aesthetic practices. The volume offers a new perspective on familiar aspects of Expressionism and abstraction, taking seriously the inheritance of modernism for the twenty-first century in ways that will help to recalibrate the field of Expressionist studies for future scholarship.

This edited volume explores social, economic, political, and cultural practices generated by African, Asian, and Oceanic individuals and groups within the context and aftermath of German colonialism. The volume contributes to current debates on transnational and intercultural processes while highlighting the ways in which the colonial period is embedded in larger processes of globalization.

In addition to tracing the political, cultural and religious history of medieval Germany, this volume examines the thought of outstanding German men and women, and includes an extensive account of the changing status of German Jews.

The story of German philosophy from the Middle Ages to today. This concise but comprehensive book provides an original history of German-language philosophy from the Middle Ages to today. It traces the evolution of German philosophy and describes its central influence on other aspects of German culture, including literature, politics, and science.