UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Honors 350: Sacred Asia: Find Scholarly Sources

Search in Search@UW

Find articles, UW books, digital collections & media

A video tutorial on searching the library's catalog is available at the bottom of the page

Databases for Art History Research

JSTOR
Provides access to journal articles, books, images, and primary sources. Contents include the Artstor image collection, archival and current scholarly journal content, and historical documents.

Tip for EBSCO Databases: Search multiple EBSCO databases at once by clicking the "Choose databases" link above the search box. EBSCO databases include Art Full Text, Academic Search Complete, Humanities International Complete, Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, Anthropological Literature, Historical Abstracts, Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials, and Index Islamicus (among others).

Art Full Text
Art Full Text covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in 1997.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 journals.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, published by the Getty Research Institute, is a comprehensive American guide to the current literature of architecture and design. This database surveys more than 2,500 US and foreign journals. The index covers international, scholarly and popular periodical literature, including publications of professional associations; US state and regional periodicals; and major serial publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia.
Anthropological Literature
Anthropological Literature is the most comprehensive international resource for the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. Produced by one of the world's foremost anthropology libraries, Anthropological Literature indexes entries at least two pages long in nearly 900 journals and monographic series held in Harvard University's Tozzer Library. These include articles, reports, commentaries and obituaries. Anthropological Literature online now covers articles published from the late 19th century to the present, including the complete contents of Anthropological Literature: An Index to Periodical Articles and Essays (published quarterly since 1979).
Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,100 journals and 2.47 million records) plus unique full text content. The database includes full text for more than 890 journals.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials contains citations and some full text to international periodicals, books, and book chapters on religion and theological studies. Areas covered include Biblical studies, world religions, Church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts has article abstracts from over 2,000 journals, citation of books, and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present.
Index Islamicus
The Index Islamicus database indexes publications on all aspects of Islam, and the Muslim world including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures. The database includes material published by Western orientalists, social scientists, and Muslims and contains indexing for over 3,400 titles. Over 3,000 journals are indexed in addition to conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. The database is a good starting point for historical or analytical studies of the world of Islam.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch incorporates both current Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, providing a full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 330 titles, from 1959 to current. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
Web of Science
Web of Science includes citations from the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, BIOSIS Citation Index, Zoological Record, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, and the Derwent Innovation Index. Our Web of Science subscription includes articles published from 1987 to the present; updated weekly. Useful For: systematic reviews, Highly Cited papers, citation metrics
WorldCat
WorldCat holds tens of millions of bibliographic records that represent more than one billion items. It encompasses hundreds of languages and all formats, including rapidly growing numbers of electronic resources and digital objects.
Project Muse
Provides digital humanities and social sciences content with full text access to 350 journals and select full text access to ebooks. Limit to subscribed full text using the advanced search and selecting, "Only content I have access to". Why can't I access some of this content?

Using Library Databases (video)

How to find books in Search@UW

How to Search@UW

Select Books from the Collection

A Companion to Chinese Art by Martin J. Powers (Editor); Katherine R. Tsiang (Editor); Dana Arnold (Series edited by)
ISBN: 9781118885192
Publication Date: 2015-10-06
Exploring the history of art in China from its earliest incarnations to the present day, this comprehensive volume includes two dozen newly-commissioned essays spanning the theories, genres, and media central to Chinese art and theory throughout its history.
The History and Spirit of Chinese Art - From Pre-History to the Tang Dynasty by Fa Zhang
ISBN: 1623201268
Publication Date: 2015-06-30
In The History and Spirit of Chinese Art, aesthetics expert Zhang Fa deciphers the philosophies and thoughts that have defined Chinese art since the very beginning of the Chinese civilization, moving through the dynastic landmarks of artistic development with discussions of numerous art forms including paintings, architecture, dance and music, calligraphy, and literature.
Chinese Buddhist Art by Patricia Eichenbaum Karetzky
ISBN: 0195928571
Publication Date: 2003-01-30
Chinese Buddhist Art provides a succinct yet richly detailed history of Buddhist art in China. It is an invaluable primer for anyone new to the subject as well as a useful source of recent research for experts.
A Companion to Korean Art by J. P. Park (Editor); Juhyung Rhi (Editor); Burglind Jungmann (Editor); Dana Arnold (Series edited by)
ISBN: 9781118927021
Publication Date: 2020-06-26
Insightful chapters discuss Korean art and visual culture from early historical periods to the present. Subjects include the early paintings of Korea, Buddhist architecture, visual art of the late Chosŏn period, postwar Korean Art, South Korean cinema, and more. Several chapters explore the cultural exchange between the Korean peninsula, the Chinese mainland, and the Japanese archipelago, offering new perspectives on Chinese and Japanese art. The most comprehensive survey of the history of Korean art available, this book offers a comprehensive account of Korean visual culture through history, including contemporary developments and trends
Hinduism and the Religious Arts by Heather Elgood
ISBN: 9780304338207
Publication Date: 1998-11-01
The roots between the Hindu religion and the wider culture are deep and uniquely complex. No study of either ancient or contemporary Indian culture can be undertaken without a clear understanding of Hindu visual arts and their sources in religious belief and practice. In addition, this book offers critical background information for anyone interested in the social and anthropological roots of artistic creativity, as well as the rites, practices and beliefs of the hundreds of millions of Hindus in the world today.
Intersections of Contemporary Art, Anthropology and Art History in South Asia by Sasanka Perera (Editor); Dev Nath Pathak (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030058517
Publication Date: 2019-03-06
Taking South Asia as its focus, this wide-ranging collection probes the general reluctance of the cultural anthropology to engage with contemporary visual art and artists, including painting, sculpture, performance art and installation. Through case studies engaged equally in anthropology and visual studies, contributors examine art and artistic production in India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Bangladesh, and Nepal to bring the social and political complexities of artistic practice to the fore.
Puja and Piety: Hindu, Jain, and Buddhist Art from the Indian Subcontinent by Pratapaditya Pal (Editor); Stephen P. Huyler (Contribution by); John E. Cort (Contribution by); Christian Luczanits (Contribution by); Debashish Banerji (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9780520288478
Publication Date: 2016-04-16
Puja and Piety celebrates the complexity of South Asian representation and iconography by examining the relationship between aesthetic expression and the devotional practice, or puja, in the three native religions of the Indian subcontinent. This stunning and authoritative catalogue presents some 150 objects created over the past two millennia for temples, home worship, festivals, and roadside shrines. From monumental painted temple hangings and painted meditation diagrams to portable pictures for pilgrims, from stone sculptures to processional bronzes and wooden chariots, from ancient terracottas to various devotional objects for domestic shrines, this volume provides much-needed context and insight into classical and popular art of India.
Japanese Art by Morgan Pitelka (Editor)
ISBN: 9781350024502
Publication Date: 2018-04-05
"Japanese Art: Critical and Primary Sources is a four-volume reference work offering a critical overview of the history and culture of Japanese art. Drawing upon a wide range of English-language texts, the volumes explore the diverse and changing material and visual cultures of Japan from the pre-modern period to the present day. Over 75 essays from Asia, North America and Europe are assembled in this set and they address four major themes - material cultures (Buddhist objects, ceramics, textiles, interiors), visual cultures (painting, calligraphy, photography), printed matter (wood-block prints, books) and the context for Japan's art history (networks of patronage, sites of artistic production and consumption).
Shinto by Sinéad Vilbar; Kevin Carr; Taniguchi Kosei; Shimizu Ken; Talia J. Andrei; Miriam Chusid; Iwai Tomoji
ISBN: 9780300237016
Publication Date: 2019-06-04
Conveying the impressive range and beauty of art associated with the tradition of kami veneration in Japan, 'Shinto: Discovery of the Divine in Japanese Art' presents works in various media--calligraphy, painting, sculpture, costume, and decorative arts--assembled from religious institutions and museums in Japan, and from collections in the United States.
Christianities in Asia by Peter C. Phan (Editor)
ISBN: 9781405160902
Publication Date: 2010-12-13
Christianity in Asia explores the history, development, and current state of Christianity across the world’s largest and most populous continent.
Anthropology, Art and Cultural Production by Maruska Svasek
ISBN: 9781783714759
Publication Date: 2007
This book provides an introduction to anthropological perspectives on art. Svasek defines art as a social process, where we study not only the artifacts themselves and the values attributed to them, but also the process of production and the wider context in which this process takes place. Svasek provides a critical overview of various anthropological theories of art. She examines the process of collecting and exhibiting art works and how this relates to art's production, distribution, and consumption in an increasingly global market. The book also explores the significance of art and aesthetics in everyday life, examing the shifting boundaries between art and other categories such as kitsch, souvenirs, propaganda, and pornography.
Style and Meaning: Essays on the Anthropology of Art by Anthony Forge; Alison Clark (Editor); Nicholas Thomas (Editor)
ISBN: 9789088904462
Publication Date: 2017-09-12
Anthropology's engagement with art has a complex and uneven history. While material culture, 'decorative art', and art styles were of major significance for founding figures such as Alfred Haddon and Franz Boas, art became marginal as the discipline turned towards social analysis in the 1920s. This book addresses a major moment of renewal in the anthropology of art in the 1960s and 1970s. Fifty years later, art has renewed global significance, and anthropologists are again considering both its local expressions among Indigenous peoples and its new global circulation. In this context, Forge's arguments have renewed relevance: they help scholars and students understand the genealogies of current debates, and remind us of fundamental questions that remain unanswered.
The History and Cultural Heritage of Chinese Calligraphy, Printing and Library Work by Susan M. Allen (Editor); Lin Zuzao (Editor); Cheng Xiaolan (Editor); Jan Bos (Editor)
ISBN: 9786612716584
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
In China the tradition of a book society is longer than anywhere else in the world. Chinese paper making, calligraphy and woodblock printing date from very early ages, but have for a very long time remained almost unknown to the Western world. At the IFLA satellite meeting "Chinese Written and Printed Cultural Heritage and Library Work" in Hangzhou in 2006 the richness of present day book historical research and library activities in China has been presented by more than sixty papers. This fine selection reflects the width and depth of this extremely important and immense Chinese heritage.