UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: HIST 940: Seminar on Global History- Gender, Sexuality, & Imperialism: Get Started

Start Using the Library

Workshop Links

Library Workshop Links

Blank Mind Map Worksheet
Download and print a copy of this mind mapping worksheet if you'd like to use it for your own research.

Discussion Questions Document
We'll use this Google Doc to share research topics and identify workshop goals.

Planning Your Research

Create a mind map to organize your ideas and focus your topic

In class we used Google Jamboard to brainstorm keywords, but there are no rules to concept mapping. The main objectives of mind/concept mapping are to identify patterns and connections in what you already know, to begin developing a list of search terms, and to identify aspects of your topic that need to be refined.

Subject of Inquiry Concept Map - text only
Access the text-only version of the concept map displayed below.

concept map diagram for focusing and planning a graduate level research topic

Brainstorming keywords

This video demonstrates how to brainstorm keywords (search terms) for systematic searching.

Add to your keyword list

If you get stuck brainstorming Search Terms, there are a number of techniques you can use to increase the variety of keywords:

Talk out your research with a classmate or colleague who has similar interests
Browse the sources you've already found. Look for author supplied keywords and other language used by scholars of your topic
When searching, look at the terms listed under the "Topics" or "Subjects" filter on your search results page or the linked subject headings included on a source's landing page.
Look up your topic in a text book or encyclopedia. These "tertiary" sources are useful for identifying the key people, institutions, context, and concepts associated with your topic. See the links below for suggested starting points.

Recommended Tertiary Sources:

Encyclopedia of Milwaukee
The Encyclopedia of Milwaukee project aims to provide comprehensive coverage of the history of Milwaukee. With a projected 740 entries, hundreds of illustrations, historical and contemporary maps, bibliographic materials, and the opportunity to interact with readers, the EMKE will be a first stop for researchers ranging from students to journalists to scholars and the general public.
History Reference Source
History Reference Source offers full text from more than 2,500 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for nearly 170 leading history periodicals, more than 112,000 historical documents, 113,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 112,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.

Encyclopedia of urban studies by Ray Hutchinson
Call Number: ebook
This encyclopedia covers the various academic disciplines that contribute to urban studies, including urban anthropology, urban economics, urban geography, urban history, urban politics, urban sociology, academic programmes that build upon these disciplines and professional fields that comprise urban studies.
The Concise Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History by Michael Kazin (Editor); Rebecca Edwards (Editor); Adam Rothman (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
An essential guide to U.S. politics, from the founding to today With 150 accessible articles written by more than 130 leading experts, this essential reference provides authoritative introductions to some of the most important and talked-about topics in American history and politics, from the founding to today. Abridged from the acclaimed Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History, this is the only single-volume encyclopedia that provides comprehensive coverage of both the traditional topics of U.S. political history and the broader forces that shape American politics--including economics, religion, social movements, race, class, and gender. Fully indexed and cross-referenced, each entry provides crucial context, expert analysis, informed perspectives, and suggestions for further reading.

Tips for entering and combining keywords (search terms)

The way you enter and combine terms matters. In addition to brainstorming keywords, think about how you might enter or combine terms to create highly specific search queries.