Skip to Main Content
UWM Libraries Homepage

HIST 600: Seminar in History

This library guide contains resources designed to support research for the History capstone course

Searching for Schoarly Articles Links and Tutorials

Databases for secondary History literature

Searching America: History and Life

This video demonstrates how to conduct a search in the database America: History and Life. The techniques in this video will also work for the world history database, Historical Abstracts. 

What is LibKey Nomad Browser Extension

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that makes off-campus searching easier. While searching, you can quickly see which articles are available to you through UWM Libraries. LibKey Nomad works on publisher websites, PubMed, and even Wikipedia to connect you to scholarly resources. If UWM does not have the full text, LibKey Nomad will link you to Search@UW where you can make an InterLibrary Loan request.

Install LibKey Nomad
  • Install the LibKey Nomad extension on your browser 
  • Search for and select University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee from the list of institutions
    • The LibKey Nomad icon will appear in the top right of your browser window
  • Start your search
    • When you are on a page where you can download an article, the LibKey Nomad button will appear in the bottom left of your browser

Watch the video below to learn more and see how to install LibKey Nomad on your computer.

Finding full-text sources

Searching library databses, you'll encounter lots of abstracts. Abstracts are summary records for articles, but they do not contain the full content of a source. This video demonstrates how to use the "Get It" to get to the full-text article from an abstract record. 

Cited Reference Searching Two Ways

Review a footnotes or a bibliography to find more sources

One of the best places to find sources is the bibliography or references of a book or article of a source you already have. This video demonstrates how to pay attention to cited works while reading, and use citation information to access those sources. 

Find out which scholars cited a book or article using Google Scholar

I don't recommend searching for History Literature using Google Scholar, however you can use the "Cited By" feature to find additional sources that cite sources you've already found. This allows you to follow the full academic conversation about a topic and identify new sources related to your research.