This video demonstrates how to use free primary source search tool Digital Public Library of America (DPLA).
The Digital Public Library of America strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science. Contains materials from all the UW System Digital Collections, Recollection Wisconsin, the National Archives and Records Administration, University of California System, the Smithsonian, and the New York Public Library.
This video demonstrates how to search for digitized primary using Google and where to find UWM Libraries digital collections and primary source databases.
Newspapers.com Library Edition - World Collection contains historical newspapers from the 1700s - 2000s. Included are thousands of well-known regional, state, and small local newspapers in the United States and other countries. There are 150 Wisconsin-specific titles including the Janesville Daily Gazette, the Racine Daily Herald, the Eau Claire Leader, and many more.
The Chicago Tribune (1849-1999) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
The Los Angeles Times (1881-2000) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
The New York Times (1851-2020) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
The Washington Post (1877-2007) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.