The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
Europeana enables people to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. It promotes discovery and networking opportunities in a multilingual space where users can engage, share in and be inspired by the rich diversity of Europe's cultural and scientific heritage.
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500–1926 is based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, containing approximately 29,000 works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more.
19th and 20th century primary material found in leading historic periodicals and books.
Some resources and collections available: Godey's Lady's Book (Parts 1-9); The Civil War collection (Parts 1-6), Virginia Gazette (Parts 1-5), African American Newspapers collection, Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue, Pennsylvania Newspaper Record, the Lily, Frank Leslie's Weekly, National Citizen and Ballot Box and the Revolution.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)is a comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century, the world's largest library of the printed book on microfilm. Access includes the original base collection of 135,000 volumes (ECCO I) plus a 45,000 volume supplement (ECCO II).
The European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750 database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. This resource has been created from the European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online unites multiple, distinct archives into a single resource, including a wide variety of previously unavailable primary sources ranging from books and monographs, newspapers and periodicals, diaries and personal letters, manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, and maps. Archival modules 1-12 include: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; Children’s Literature and Childhood; Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature; Photography: The World through the Lens; Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform; Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925 Part I and II; and Women: Transnational Networks.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information. It includes letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews and other personal narratives.
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 provides full text coverage of a wide range of primary and secondary documents, a dictionary of social movements and organizations, a chronology of U.S. Women's History, as well as images and links to other websites. Online access is to the Basic Edition.