Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Government Publication Books
Government Publishing Office - Federal Depository Library Program
The UWM Libraries is a congressionally designated depository for United States government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code)
The UWM Libraries is a "60% selective" U.S. Federal Depository Library, therefore not all publications available through the Government Publications Office are guaranteed to be available (please ask for assistance if you are not finding what you need!). Federal government resources are received in various formats, including paper, microfiche, CD-ROM, DVD, and via the Internet. These resources are found in various locations in the Golda Meir Library building or online, depending on format and subject.
Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP)
The FDLP Desktop serves as a centralized resource for the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP), which disseminates U.S. Government information to the American public through libraries across the nation.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) indexes electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. Direct links are provided to those publications that are available online.
Federal Digital Systems (FDsys)
FDsys provides free online access to official Federal Government publication.
Topical Federal Web Sites
A browseable list of Federal Web sites based off broad subject areas.
The U.S. government's official web portal for accessing government information by audience and topic. Federal, state, local and tribal government links. Browse the A-Z index for links to government departments and agencies
The U.S. Census Bureau interface for distributing the Decennial Census of Population and Housing, the Economic Census, the American Community Survey, annual economic surveys, and other upcoming major related statistical files. This site is the primary source for the Census and the current economic census reports. The site is updated regularly with new data as it becomes available to the public.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
National Criminal Justice Reference Service has citations and abstracts to federal, state, and local government documents, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research in the field of criminal justice. Some publications are available in full text.
PLEASE NOTE: Subscribed access to Nexis Uni will cease June 30, 2022.
Nexis Uni provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Covers many news sources for 20 years. Court cases and statutes from all federal and state jurisdictions are included. Most resources can be searched in full text.
Members of Congress Mobile App
Based on the Guide to the House and Senate Members and information in the Congressional Pictorial Directory, the app allows users to browse for Members of Congress by last name, state, chamber, or party. Additionally, users can search by first and last name.
Wisconsin Document Depository Program
The UWM Libraries is a Selective Depository Library for the Wisconsin Document Depository program. Tangible material received through the program is cataloged into the general circulating collection, accessible via Search@UW.
Additional key sources of information include the following:
Wisconsin Digital Archives
Online documents on the activities, functions, and policies of Wisconsin State Government (2001 to current) published by the Executive and Judicial branches of Wisconsin State Government, state government task forces, initiatives, boards, commissions, councils and special study groups.
Wisconsin Legislative Reference Bureau Digital Collections
Government documents published by legislative agencies, legislator press releases, and statutorily mandated reports by Wisconsin state agencies.
Wisconsin Historical Society Web Archives
Online archive of selected websites of state agencies, county and local governments, political campaigns for gubernatorial and other Wisconsin elections, topical issues, and online newsletters.
UW-Milwaukee Government Information
Catherine Loomis, Depository Coordinator
Resource Discovery Team
Collection & Resource Management
T: (414) 229-6002
This LibGuide was created in 2010 by Tyler Scott Smith with assistance from Linda Brothen and Linda Kopecky. Marisa Glazier (SOIS Fieldworker) contributed updates in 2015. Please contact Catherine Loomis with questions or suggestions (firstname.lastname@example.org).