Skip to main content

Gender and the Media: Primary Sources

Primary Sources for Your Assignment

In the boxes below, there are links to individual primary sources you can choose from to analyze in your assignment. Some of these materials come from the UWM Archives Digital Collections, some items are scanned from the UWM Archives physical collections, and others are from various libraries across the country and are provided from the Digital Public Library of America. Physical collections from UWM have been scanned and made available through MS Office OneDrive. You should be able to download these items. In addition to the OneDrive links there are links to collection finding aids which provide background information about the collections the scans came from.

Send questions to askarch@uwm.edu!

UWM Digital Collections

These advertisements come from the UWM Post, the UW-Milwaukee student news paper that ran in print from 1956-2012.

The UWM Post (Milwaukee, Wis.), Volume 40, number 1 (September 5, 1995)
Soft&Dri Deodorant ad

The UWM Post (Milwaukee, Wis.), Volume 1, number 1 (September 26, 1956)
Chesterfield Cigarettes ad

The UWM Post (Milwaukee, Wis.), Volume 1, number 9 (November 21, 1956)
Chesterfield Cigarettes ad

The UWM Post (Milwaukee, Wis.), Volume 1, number 15 (January 23, 1957)
Camels Cigarette ad

The UWM Post (Milwaukee, Wis.), Volume 2, number 8 (November 7, 1957)
Camels Cigarette ad

The UWM Post (Milwaukee, Wis.), Volume 45, number 2 (September 13, 2000)
La Perla Restaurant ad

Collections At UWM

These sources come from the Records of the West Bend Company, manufacturing firm best known for its production of aluminum cookware. You can learn more about the company and collection here.

From product Literature, box 37, folder 2
1924-26

From Product Literature, box 39, folder 1
1938 April-1941 March

These sources come from the records of the Phoenix Hosiery Company, a Milwaukee Manufacturer of  women's stockings. Learn more about the company and collection here.

Box 3
Ladies Home Journal Ad, 1929

Phoenix Sil Hose, undated