Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Documenting Marginalized Voices and Social Justice Movements in Online Archives
Documenting Ferguson is a freely available resource that seeks to preserve and make accessible the digital media captured and created by community members following the shooting death of Michael Brown in Ferguson, Missouri, on August 9, 2014
Internet Archive #blacklivesmatter web archive
The Internet Archive uses a tool called “Archive-It” to “crawl” websites at regular intervals and archive versions of various webpages. In August 2014, the ArchiveIt team created a web archive and solicited urls to crawl related to the shooting of Michael Brown in Ferguson, MO. It has since expanded to include webpages and posts related to the #blacklivesmatter movement more generally.
Library of Congress Black Lives Matter Archive
Tthe Library of Congress archives the BLM movement by regularly collecting digital captures of the Black Lives Matter website, as well as the Black Lives Matter social media accounts .
A People’s Archive of Police Violence in Cleveland
This digital archive, created in the summer of 2015 by residents of Cleveland, OH in collaboration with professional archivists from around the U.S., documents experiences of police violence and incarceration in Cleveland. The collection includes police policies and incident reports, protest posters, oral history interviews, and video and audio press recordings. Part of this archival project includes the “Righting the Record" Oral History Project.
Preserve The Baltimore Uprising Archive Project
Preserve the Baltimore Uprising is a digital archive devoted to preserving and making accessible media created and captured by people and organizations involved in or witness to the protests following Freddie Gray's death in 2015.The collection includes photos, video, oral recordings, produced recordings, written accounts, and emails that document a diversity of perspectives of individuals’ experiences of the Baltimore Uprising
Project STAND : Student Activism Now
Project STAND is an online archive that documents student activism from colleges and universities across the country, including student participation in BLM. The site also provides guidance on how best to archive this type of activism.
South Asian American Digital Archive
SAADA was established in 2008 to preserve, document, and share the relatively unknown history of the South Asian American experience. SAADA is the only digital repository for materials related to the South Asian community in the United States
Texas After Violence Project
The Texas After Violence project is a community-based archive that preserves the voices, experiences, and perspectives of people directly impacted by violence in Texas. They have conducted hundreds of oral history interviews through their "Life and Death in a Carceral State: Narratives of Loss and Survival," which interviews people directly impacted by murder, police violence, in-custody deaths, mass incarceration, and the death penalty.