Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
March On Milwaukee Project
The March on Milwaukee Civil Rights History Project supports understanding of the struggle for racial equality by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from the collections of the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries and the Wisconsin Historical Society. The digital collection includes the selected papers of individuals representing a variety of positions on the civil rights issue, photographs, unedited footage from the WTMJ-TV news film archives, and oral history interviews capturing the recollections and perspectives of individuals who participated in the movement. The collection also includes contextual materials, such as brief explanations of relevant people, places, events, and organizations; a timeline; a bibliography of relevant published sources; and maps highlighting important locations.
How to Access UWM Libraries Primary Sources
UWM Libraries Digital Collection
The Digital Collections at the UWM Libraries include over 180,000 photographic images, maps, and books drawn from the collections of the American Geographical Society Library, the Archives, Special Collections, and the Curriculum Collection.
Latino Activism at UWM 1970-1971
Latino Activism at UWM, 1970-1971 includes documents, photographs, newspaper articles, and video, illustrating the efforts of Latino activists to obtain more support from the university.
March on Milwaukee: Civil Rights History Project
This digital collection presents primary sources from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries and the Wisconsin Historical Society that provide a window onto Milwaukee's civil rights history.
RHC Digital Exhibit
Digital Exhibit on the founding of the Roberto Hernandez Center for the celebration of the RHC 50th anniversary
Vel Phillps was an attorney, politician, jurist, and Civil Rights activist, who served as an alderperson and judge in Milwaukee, often as the first woman and/or African-American in her position.