Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Engineering

summer program for incoming students

College-level Research Tutorial

Purpose: The College-level Research tutorial is designed to help you build on the research strategies you already use. These modules are designed to teach you practices and ways of thinking about information that will allow you to:

  • Understand and use web searches to inspire college-level research topics
  • Learn what scholarly sources are and how to recognize them
  • Strategically search for sources in subject databases
  • Share your ideas in ways that do not silence or exploit the work of others

Choose a Module:

1: Preparing for Research

2: Understanding Scholarly Sources

3: Choosing and Using Databases

4: Crediting and Creating

Magazines

Scientific American (http://www.scientificamerican.com) is the best magazine to get insights about developments in science and technology.

View full-text articles from Scientific American via UWM databases here.

Discover (http://discovermagazine.com) is a good starting point for understandable stories on complex subjects.  

View full-text articles from Discover via UWM databases here.

National Geographic (http://www.nationalgeographic.com) is the best magazine for articles with quality photos focusing on nature.

View full-text articles from National Geographic via UWM databases here.

Popular Science (http://www.popsci.com) is a good magazine for those particularly interested in technology.

View full-text articles from Popular Science via UWM databases here.