UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Curriculum and Instruction 556: Home

Education Databases Best Bets

ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center (EBSCO)
ERIC is the source for information on all aspects of education for all age groups, including counseling, tests, and measurement. ERIC indexes journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, standards and guidelines.
Teacher Reference Center
The Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for many of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators.
Professional Development Collection
The Professional Development Collection provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.

Helpful Links

WISEdash
Wisconsin's Information System for Education Data Dashboard
**TIP: scroll down to "Reporting"
Wisconsin Department of Instruction
The Department of Public Instruction is the state agency that advances public education and libraries in Wisconsin.Their mission is to ensure that every child, regardless of zip code, has access to quality public education programs, enrichment opportunities, and special education supports, so that all of our kids can be successful.
UWM LibGuide for Education Research
Guide for those researching in the Education field.
SUMMARY OF 2023 ACT 19 (2023-25 BIENNIAL BUDGET) FOR K-12 SCHOOL AIDS

View Online Historical Resources

History in the Milwaukee public schools, kindergarten through twelfth grade Milwaukee. Public Schools
Milwaukee. Public Schools. (1942). History in the Milwaukee public schools, kindergarten through twelfth grade.
History of Milwaukee public schools /
Donnelly, P. (1894). History of Milwaukee public schools / by Patrick Donnelly. Press of the Evening Wisconsin Company.
From No Choice to Forced Choice to School Choice: A History of Educational Options in Milwaukee Public Schools
Nelsen, J. K. (n.d.). From No Choice to Forced Choice to School Choice: A History of Educational Options in Milwaukee Public Schools. UWM Digital Commons.
Public and Private Schools in Wisconsin

Website Evaluation Criteria

To help determine if you're looking at credible, quality information, consider the following criteria:

Currency- how timely is the information?
Relevance- who is the intended audience?
Authority- who is creating or reporting this information?
Accuracy- where does this information come from? Can you verify this information?
Purpose: Why was this information created? to inform? to teach? to sell? to persuade?

Research Help

If you have questions not answered here, there are several ways to get additional assistance.You can contact the UWM Libraries in a variety of ways, including in person at our Research Help Desk in the Learning Commons:

Image result for online chat image 24/7 Online Chat

Image result for phone (414) 229-4659

Research Consultation

Research Help Desk (Research Help Desk hours)