Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Browser Add-ons
Finds free scholarly full texts, metrics, and provides quick citation and sharing links automatically. And much more…
Unpaywall is a browser extension that is connected to databases of open access journal articles that can connect you to free full text regardless of your institutional affiliation.
Whenever you find yourself with too many tabs, click the OneTab icon to convert all of your tabs into a list. When you need to access the tabs again, you can either restore them individually or all at once.
When your tabs are in the OneTab list, you will save up to 95% of memory because you will have reduced the number of tabs open in Google Chrome.
This will speed up a draggy computer or browser!
Sylvan paper (formerly Citelighter)
Sylvan Paper is an easy-to-use academic research tool that provides an organizational framework for writing your papers.
Highlight and capture pictures, PDFs and webpages for research in APA, MLA or Chicago style format. Access your captured content within SylvanPaper to organize your research and conquer the writing process!
Communication Sciences and Disorders Best Bets
Over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Web of Science
Web of Science includes three databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It indexes over 12,000 journals and 120,000 conference proceedings with the strongest coverage in the sciences (over 8,500 journals), followed by social sciences (over 3,000 journals), and arts and humanities (over 1,700 fully indexed journals). Our Web of Science subscription includes articles published from 1987 to the present; updated weekly. For impact factor information about specific journals use Journal Citation Reports.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides indexing for over 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,155 journals and provides full text for hundreds of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included.
PsycINFO is the core database for searching academic, research, and practice literature in psychology. Search the database for citations and summaries of psychology literature published in journals, books and dissertations. Also search here for psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. It includes over one million citations and summaries. 98% of the materials included here are peer reviewed.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Communication & Mass Media Complete is an index of articles in communication and mass media, communication sciences and disorders. It does include some full text.
Thank you to Mary Boulanger, former UWM Health & Life Sciences Librarian, who created the original 2008 research guide for Communication Sciences & Disorders 701 and edited it until her January 2016 retirement.
Research Activity - 2019 Summer