Classics

Digital Library with texts on the history, language and culture of Greco-Roman world

The Theoi Classical Texts Library is a collection of translations of works of ancient Greek and Roman literature. The theme of the library is classical mythology and so the selection consists primarily of ancient poetry, drama and prose accounts of myth.

The core of the Centre’s research archive is a collection of around 25,000 squeezes (paper impressions) of Greek inscriptions, over a half from the principal museums in Athens, but ranging across the Greek world from Ai Khanoum in Afghanistan to Upper Egypt.

This website contains essentially all Latin literary texts written before A.D. 200, as well as some texts selected from later antiquity.

The mission of the Loeb Classical Library, has always been to make Greek and Latin literature accessible to the broadest range of readers. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease.

Public domain collection of Latin texts drawn from various sources intended for easy online reading and use.

The Duke Papyrus Archive provides electronic access to texts about and images of nearly 1400 papyri from ancient Egypt. The target audience includes: papyrologists, ancient historians, archaeologists, biblical scholars, classicists, Coptologists, Egyptologists, students of literature and religion and all others interested in ancient Egypt.

The Inscriptions Search Engine is the main gateway into the EAGLE’s massive epigraphic database, the place where the content provided by the epigraphers’ community is aggregated and stored and where it is made accessible to the users.

iDAI.objects arachne is the central object database of the German Archaeological Institute (DAI) and the Archaeological Institute of the University of Cologne.

The Museum's collection of Greek and Roman art comprises more than thirty thousand works ranging in date from the Neolithic period (ca. 4500 B.C.) to the time of the Roman emperor Constantine's conversion to Christianity in A.D. 312. The geographic regions represented are Greece and Italy, but not as delimited by modern political frontiers: Greek colonies were established around the Mediterranean basin and on the shores of the Black Sea, and Cyprus became increasingly Hellenized. For Roman art, the geographical limits coincide with the expansion of the Roman Empire. The department also exhibits the art of prehistoric Greece (Helladic, Cycladic, and Minoan) and pre-Roman art of Italic peoples, notably the Etruscans.

The Art of Ancient Greece and Rome department is home to one of the most recognized and distinguished encyclopedic collections of classical art in the world. The more than 17,000 works in the collection range in date from the Bronze Age (about 2800 BCE) to the Early Byzantine period (600 CE) and were made, used, and seen principally in the Mediterranean but also elsewhere from Afghanistan to Britain. The collection is distinctive for its quality and the large number of singular, even iconic works; it is especially strong in Greek and Roman coinage and gems, Greek vases, and Roman portraiture.

he earliest objects are Neolithic clay figurines, dating back to the sixth millennium BC, and marble vessels and figurines from the Cycladic islands and Cyprus, dating from the Bronze Age. There are also significant holdings of Greek bronzework, sculpture from southern Italy, and an original Greek bronze statue of the Hellenistic period known as The Victorious Youth.

Explore thousands of artworks in the museum’s collection—from our renowned icons to lesser-known works from every corner of the globe—as well as our books, writings, reference materials, and other resources.

The National Archaeological Museum is the largest museum in Greece and one of the most important in the world. It houses the five major permanent collections: Collection of Prehistoric Antiquities, Collection of Sculpture Works, Vase and Miniature Collection, the Collection of Metalworking Works, and the Collection of Egyptian and Eastern Antiquities.

The Classical Art Research Centre (CARC) is one of the strategic research units of the Oxford University Faculty of Classics. Our purpose is to stimulate and support fresh research on many aspects of ancient Greek and Roman art, as well as hosting our own projects. We provide physical and virtual archives and databases, web resources, conferences, workshops, and publications, serving an very global audience beyond Oxford.

The new Acropolis Museum website is a sophisticated online portal that brings before the public all the necessary information on the Museum, access to it, temporary exhibitions, activities, events, school and family programmes as well as its research and conservation projects. Moreover, the website presents all the artefacts included in the Museum’s permanent exhibition and part of those kept in the Museum storerooms (2,156 artefacts), offering thus to the wide public free access to knowledge and learning, beyond temporal, spatial, social and cultural limits.