Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books at UW-Waukesha
Art Inc. by You don't have to starve to be an artist. Build a career doing what you love. In this practical guide, professional artist Lisa Congdon reveals the many ways you can earn a living by making art--through illustration, licensing, fine art sales, print sales, teaching, and beyond. Including industry advice from such successful art-world pros as Nikki McClure, Mark Hearld, Paula Scher, and more, Art, Inc. will equip you with the tools--and the confidence--to turn your passioninto a profitable business. LEARN HOW TO: * Set actionable goals * Diversify your income * Manage your bookkeeping * Copyright your work * Promote with social media * Build a standout website * Exhibit with galleries * Sell and price your work * License your art * Acquire an agent * And much more
Call Number: Career Collection N8350 .C58 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Becoming a Successful Illustrator by Get ready to enter the working world of illustration with this freshly updated second edition of Brazell and Davies 's Becoming a Successful Illustrator. This edition features even more Spotlight on - ' sections, with advice from practicing illustrators as well as the people that commission them. You can enjoy added coverage in fields such as moving image, character illustration and social media. There are also new exercises to get you started planning and building your business, and over 200 inspirational examples of artwork, most of which are new to this edition. You can expect practical tips on how to seek work, how to market yourself and how to run your illustration business in an enterprising way, with advice that will prove useful long after your first commission. Building on the resources of the first edition, this continues to be the must-have guide to practicing professionally as an illustrator. Featured illustrators include- Millie Marotta Mark Ulriksen Natsko Seki Ellen Weinstein Stephen Collins ... and many more Featured topics include- Finding clients Agency representation Fields of work Financial and legal requirements Skills in art and design Self-promotion Showing work Managing your business
Call Number: NC1001 .B73 2018
Careers in Criminal Justice by A valuable supplement to students considering a career in the criminal justice field, this book provides an emphasis on planning, pursuing, and preparing for the hiring process. It includes three main sections of planning a realistic path, selecting an appropriate career, and preparing for the hiring process. Students will be able to peruse the relevant chapters repeatedly when they are ready to start the process of applying for various jobs.
Call Number: Career Collection HV8143 .J642 2015
Publication Date: 2014
Careers in Psychology by Are you considering a degree in psychology? CAREERS IN PSYCHOLOGY gives you exposure to careers in each of the areas of psychology and prompts you to explore whether or not a major and career in psychology is a good fit for you. Salary and career information, advice on getting a job after graduation, and information on applying to graduate school in psychology help you make decisions about the career that is right for you. CAREERS IN PSYCHOLOGY is a must read for anyone majoring in psychology or considering the degree.
Call Number: Career Collection BF76 .K88 2013
Publication Date: 2012
Careers in Sports by This ongoing series serves as a stepping stone in understanding specific careers and provides a wealth of information on the education and training needed within each profession along with a look towards the future of the field with an informative employment outlook. Jobs in the sports industry are growing at a pace more than double that of the national average. Students with an interest in the sports field have a wide variety of options in professional sports, sport equipment, and the sports management industries. Careers in Sports is designed to provide need-to-know information on the wide variety of careers in this multi-billion dollar industry that students can choose from. Careers in Sports provides detailed information on 25 different career paths, including: Athletic Trainer Branding Expert Facility Manager Marketing Manager Professional Athlete Promoter Referee Sales Manager Talent Scout Sports Agent . Detailed and accessible chapters provide real-world information about these in-demand professionas including: A Day in the Life, Work Environment, Education & Training, Earnings & Advancement, Employment Outlook, Networking Contacts, Areas with the Highest Employment Levels, and Conversations with Real Professionals.
Call Number: Career Collection GV734.3 .C37 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Films On Demand Films on Demand is a streaming video collection of over 25,000 high-quality digital programs and video clips, covering topics in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, business and economics, and health.
Subjects covered include: Anthropology, Area Studies, Art & Architecture, Biology, Business & Economics, Communication, Computers & Technology, Criminal Justice, Earth Science, Education, English & Language Arts, Environmental Science, Geography, Health & Medicine, History, Mathematics, Music & Dance, Philosophy & Religion, Physical Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and World Languages. Access also includes an Archival Films & Newsreels Collection.