Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Social Work Best Bets
Social Services Abstracts
Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
The Sociological Abstracts database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
PsycINFO is the core database for searching academic, research, and practice literature in psychology. Search the database for citations and summaries of psychology literature published in journals, books and dissertations. Also search here for psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. It includes over one million citations and summaries. 98% of the materials included here are peer reviewed.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text contains more than 400,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.
Off campus? Set Google Scholar to link to at UWM:
From the Google Scholar home page, click on the "Settings" gear on the top of the page.
- Select “Library Links” from the left column
- Search for “University of Wisconsin Milwaukee” and check the "UWM" box that appears
When you find a good article, click on the "Get IT! (UWM Libraries)" link - not the title
Poverty and Welfare Policy
US Federal Poverty Guidelines used to determine financial eligibility for certain federal programs.
Policy research on homelessness from the Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation of the Department of Health and Human Services.
SNAP data and Research
Policy data, research, and analysis from the US Department of Agriculture's Food and Nutrition Service, which administers the Supplemental Nutritional Assistance Program (SNAP).
Information on Federal laws for administering State and Tribal TANF benefits, which are distributed as block grants.
TANF Data and Reports
Data and reports from the Office of Family Assistance (OFA), which administers Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF). They are broken down by benefits for states and benefits for tribal entities.
HUD Affordable Housing Research
Topics of HUD policy research include assisted housing, vouchers, public housing, and section 8 policy research and analysis.