UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Social Work 604: Social Systems and Social Work Practice: Find Scholarly Sources & Reports

Find articles, UW books, digital collections & media

[Advanced Search]

Recommended Databases for Social Welfare Research

Social Services Abstracts
Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
PsycINFO (APA)
PsycINFO is the core database for searching academic, research, and practice literature in psychology. Search the database for citations and summaries of psychology literature published in journals, books and dissertations. Also search here for psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. It includes over one million citations and summaries. 98% of the materials included here are peer reviewed.
PubMed
Over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, open access journals (PMC), and online books and reference sources (Bookshelf). Useful For: systematic reviews, clinical trials, Trending Articles, Cited By
Ovid Emcare
Ovid Emcare, produced by Elsevier, covers all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions. Ovid Emcare includes international coverage of allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, psychiatry and mental health, and traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine. Useful for: systematic reviews; star ranking of search results based on relevance (5 stars contains all provided search terms)
Sociological Abstracts
The Sociological Abstracts database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides indexing for over 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,155 journals and provides full text for hundreds of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Useful for: PICOT guided search, systematic reviews, clinical trials
PsychiatryOnline
Access to the DSM library (including the DSM-5-TR, clinical cases, and handbooks), American Psychiatric Association journals, textbooks, practice guides, and study guides.

U.S. Social Welfare Programs Research & Data

Assistance Listings - SAM.gov
Assistance listings are detailed public descriptions of federal programs that provide grants, loans, scholarships, insurance, and other types of assistance awards. You may browse assistance listings across all government agencies to learn about potential funding sources.
Benefits.gov
As the official benefits website of the U.S. government, their mission is to increase citizen access to benefit information, while reducing the expense and difficulty of interacting with the government.
Poverty Guidelines
US Federal Poverty Guidelines used to determine financial eligibility for certain federal programs.
Homelessness
Policy research on homelessness from the Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation of the Department of Health and Human Services.
SNAP data and Research
Policy data, research, and analysis from the US Department of Agriculture's Food and Nutrition Service, which administers the Supplemental Nutritional Assistance Program (SNAP).
TANF Policy
Information on Federal laws for administering State and Tribal TANF benefits, which are distributed as block grants.
TANF Data and Reports
Data and reports from the Office of Family Assistance (OFA), which administers Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF). They are broken down by benefits for states and benefits for tribal entities.
HUD Affordable Housing Research
Topics of HUD policy research include assisted housing, vouchers, public housing, and section 8 policy research and analysis.
Research, Statistics, Data & Systems - Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
Access to reports and data on CMS programs
Federal Student Aid Data Center
The Federal Student Aid Data Center is your centralized source for information relating to the federal financial assistance programs.
Data & Research - Administration for Children & Families
ACF data and reports highlight various programs and grants that improve the lives of America's most vulnerable children, families, communities and individuals.
Data - Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
SAMHSA provides current behavioral health data, research, and evaluation information on alcohol and other drug use, mental health prevalence, mental and substance use disorder treatment facilities, and behavioral health services
Congressional Budget Office
CBO produces independent analyses of budgetary and economic issues to support the Congressional budget process. Each year, the agency’s economists and budget analysts produce dozens of reports and hundreds of cost estimates for proposed legislation.
Government Accountability Office (GAO)
GAO, often called the "congressional watchdog,” is an independent, non-partisan agency that works for Congress. GAO examines how taxpayer dollars are spent and provides Congress and federal agencies with objective, non-partisan, fact-based information to help the government save money and work more efficiently.