UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: English 207: Health Science Writing: Library Lesson 1: Finding Scientific Articles

Library Lesson 1: Finding Scientific Articles - Video and Slides

Part 1 of a 2-part series on library research skills for ENG 207 students. This first lesson is about finding research articles using library resources.

ENG 207 Library Workshop Part 1

Be Effective - Search in the "Right" Place

Health Research Resources
A chart of different databases and how they might help you. Review before selecting database options below.

Select a database that fits your topic. Each database the library has specializes in particular areas.

For Psychology or Mental-Health related areas, try:

PsycINFO (APA)

For Nursing or Medical Sciences, try:

For topics that cross multiple areas or are interdisciplinary, try

For athletic performance or technique, try

SPORTDiscus with Full Text

For more options, visit our A-Z database page - narrow your options by selecting "Health Science" from the Subject drop-down

A-Z Databases
Use this link if you would like to search UWM's entire list of databases in alphabetical order.

Public Health Policy Best Bets

ProQuest Congressional
ProQuest Congressional provides access to historical and current Congressional information and publications on all aspects of legislation dealing with life and public policy. Topics include scientific undertakings, historical events, social welfare, economic conditions, communication policies, and an endless array of other subjects.
The database indexes and provides full-text for Congressional Committee Prints, House and Senate Documents and Reports (Congressional Serial Set), Hearings, and Legislative Histories. It also provides member and committee information and political news, as well as access to the Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, and the Congressional Record (1985-present).

Wisconsin Legislative Reference Bureau Digital Collections
Government documents published by legislative agencies, legislator press releases, and statutorily mandated reports by Wisconsin state agencies.
Wisconsin State Legislature
Website of the Senate and State Assembly of Wisconsin, which provides details on the legislature agenda, rules, and policy that has been passed.
WI Lobbying
The Wisconsin Ethics Commission's lobbying website.
Congress.gov
Great source for in-progress bills, as well as an annotated constitution, committee reports, congressional records, and more. USA.gov is similar, but includes links to department, agency, and other branch's websites.