UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Health Careers: Career Information Online

Web Resources

American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (AANP)
Explore the CareerLink page.
American Nurses Association (ANA)
Nursing jobs and career resources.
Discover Nursing
Descriptions of the many types of nursing.
Academy of Nutrition & Dietetics
Explore the Career Center.
Association of Nutrition & Foodservice Professionals
Includes a Career Planner, resume, and interview tips.
American Counseling Association
Explore the Career Center and page for professional development in the field.
American Public Health Association
Job postings and career development resources.
American Veterinary Medical Association
Veterinary medicine job board, job search tips, and career development resources.
ADEA Dental Education
Learn more about a career in dentistry

Describes the training and education needed, earnings, expected job prospects, what workers do on the job, and working conditions.

O*Net: The Occupational Information Network
Provides comprehensive information on key attributes and characteristics of workers and occupations. You can generate lists of potential occupations to match your skill set.
Identify Majors/Careers that Fit You
Explore interests, values, and skills and take career assessments.
From the UWM Career Planning and Resource Center.
Research Majors/Careers
From the UWM Career Planning and Resource Center.
Career Browser
Briefly profiles hundreds of majors and careers.
UWM Libraries Online Reference Guide
Scroll down to view the links in the Career & Employment box.

Associations and membership organizations can be an excellent source of information concerning a specific profession. Also, these organizations often provide a list of job postings, plus offer career development & training resources, meetings, and networking opportunities.

WEDDLE'S Associations Directory
This directory includes 1,500 associations from around the world organized by their primary professional/occupational focus and/or industry of interest.
Job-Hunt.Org: Directory of Professional/Industry Associations
Browse this site containing links to 15 categories and 10 sub-categories of professional and industry associations.
Associations on the Net
Guide to web sites of prominent organizations and associations.

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Describes the training and education needed, earnings, expected job prospects, what workers do on the job, and working conditions.

WORKnet (Wisconsin) Occupational Employment Statistics (OES)
Occupational employment numbers and wage estimates for the U.S., Wisconsin, larger metropolitan areas (MSAs) and regional areas (Balance of State).
Explore the broader WORKnet site for for more Wisconsin labor market information on careers, occupations, educational programs, wages and job growth.
National Compensation Survey
Provides comprehensive measures of occupational wages, employment cost trends, and benefit incidence and detailed plan provisions. Detailed occupational earnings are also available for metropolitan and non-metropolitan areas, broad geographic regions and on a national basis.
Salary.com
Offers several wizards for searching by job titles and salary range, estimating your actual job-market worth. (Basic information is free.)
Jobstar Salary Guide
Links to online salary surveys for a wide range of professions.
Salary Search (Indeed.com)
Provides a graphic overview of advertised salaries by job title and geographic location (city, state, zip code).
PayScale
Enables comparisons of potential job salaries and evaluations of current salary.

Bankrate: Cost of Living Comparison Calculator

Cost of living statistics for U.S. cities.

CNN Money
Cost of living comparison for two job locations.
Salaries, Costs of Living, & Relocation
List of various online calculators and websites from the U.S. State Dept.
PayScale - Report
Learn a job offer's true cost or added value of relocation.
Sperling's Best Places
Compares not only income but other lifestyle and economic factors to consider in a career move.

International Jobs

Overseas Jobs
Global Jobs Board: Foreign Policy Association
Search for jobs and internships.
Monster.com Work Abroad
International Job Opportunities: Riley Guide
UN Jobs
USAJOBS
U.S. Government's official source for federal job listings. In the Advanced Search screen, use the Location drop-down to browse or search for jobs in other countries. Note: For helpful guides on using this site, click on more... link below.

more...less...

Review the following helpful documents:
- Federal Resumes
- How to Use USAJOBS
The Muse
Get career advice, browse jobs by location, explore companies, search for jobs, and more.
DevEx
International aid & development jobs and internships.
Development Worker
InterNations
Guide and international network for expatriates in nearly 400 cities worldwide. Note: For fuller access to the site content, you must submit an application to be considered for free membership.
OneDayOneJob: Careers in International
_____________________________________________________________
UWM CPaRC: Career Specific Online Job Postings
Scroll down to the International and/or the Foreign Language and ESL sections.
(Although primarily U.S. based, you may also want to try UWM CPaRC's PantherJobs search.)
UWM CIE: More Job Posting Sites

Intern Abroad

AIESEC
Backdoorjobs.com
Website describing a variety of short-term job opportunities both in the United States and abroad.
Casa-Nica (Nicaragua)
Global Jobs Board: Foreign Policy Association
Search for jobs and internships.
Institute for Cultural Diplomacy
Intern Abroad HQ
International Cooperative Education
Listing of paid internships in a variety of foreign countries.
International Internships LLC
Search for internships by location and/or field of study.
Internships: M.i.h Jeans
One Heart Source
Princeton in Africa (PiAF)
Princeton in Latin America (PiLA)
School of Russian and Asian Studies (SRAS) Internships Abroad
Social Impact Summer
Thinking Beyond Borders’ internship abroad combines a mix of experiential and classroom learning.
Student Internships | U.S. Agency for International Development
Tom Manatos Jobs
Government and political job and internship listings. Note: To search this site, you must register for a free account. Also, full position listings are only available for a fee.
VACorps
Professional internship program based in Cape Town, South Africa

Volunteer Abroad

Action Without Borders (Idealist)
A global clearinghouse of international job and volunteer opportunities.
Peace Corps
Serve in 74 countries; work in the following areas: education, youth outreach, and community development; business development; agriculture and environment; health and HIV/AIDS; and information technology.
Volunteers for Peace (VFP)
Nonprofit membership organization that offers placement in over 3,000 volunteer projects in more than 100 countries.
Build Abroad
One Heart Source

Going Global Database

Going Global (UWM)
UWM subscribes to this valuable resource for international job seekers, which includes country career guides and job postings. Enter the database by using this link and logging in with your UWM ePanther ID and password.

UWM Center for International Education

UWM's Center for International Education (CIE) "engages in teaching, research and outreach through its international, global, and area studies programs, its academic and public lectures and conferences, and by connecting US and international students and scholars with on-campus and overseas research and study opportunities."

Follow the links below for more information:

Country Reports

ABI/Inform Collection: Country Reports
Library subscription database; access Country Reports from EIU and Oxford.
Business Source Premier: Country Reports
Library subscription database; Country economics reports from various publishers, including Datamonitor, EIU, IHS Global Insight, and more.
Export.gov Market Research
Open access website; U.S. government reports, including Country Commercial Guides, Best Market Reports, and more on various countries. Free registration required.
Deloitte International Tax and Business Guides
Open access website

Job Listings

PantherJobs
UWM Career Planning and Resource Center resource that connects UWM students and alumni with local and national employers.
Requires creation of a personal account; for UWM students and alumni only.
Career Planning and Resource Center: Job Listing Websites
Career Planning and Resource Center (CPARC) listings.
Job Center of Wisconsin
A Wisconsin-centered employment exchange.
USAJOBS
Portal to jobs within the United States federal government.
USAJOBS - Student Jobs
Portal to student jobs within the United States federal government.
The Riley Guide
Directory of employment and career information websites.
Cool Works
Primarily a seasonal job board for college students seeking unique adventure-oriented experiences or nature-lovers' locations. Includes postings for resorts, camps, conservation corps, state or national parks, rafting guides, and internships. Search by state or job category.

Job Search Engines

Resumes and Cover Letters

UWM Career Planning and Resource Center
Guidelines on writing resumes and cover letters.
JobStar - Resume and Cover Letters
Sample resume and cover letters.
Rebecca Smith's eResume's 101
Collection of tutorials for developing your electronic resume.

Informational Interviewing: Get the Inside Scoop on Careers - This article from Occupational Outlook Quarterly (U.S. Dept of Labor) details the informational interview process.

Informational Interviewing (UC Berkeley) - Includes an online video component.

Sources for Medical and Health Terminology

MedlinePlus Consumer Health Topics
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. It is produced by the National Library of Medicine. MedlinePlus uses a custom consumer health vocabulary for its 850+ health topics including symptoms, causes, treatment and prevention for over 1000 diseases, illnesses, health conditions and wellness issues.
Search this site by keyword or start at a topic.

.
Medical Dictionary of Health Terms (Harvard Medical School)
Browse topics using the A-Z or 0-9 prompts, or enter a term into the search box.

.
Medical Terms and Abbreviations: Merriam-Webster Medical Dictionary
Search medical terms and abbreviations with the most up-to-date and comprehensive medical dictionary from the reference experts at Merriam-Webster.

.

Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It includes 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.