Biography and Genealogy
- African American Biographical Database
- American Presidents
- Biographical Dictionary
- Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1774-Present
- Biography & Genealogy Master Index
- Biography.com
- Contemporary Authors
- FamilySearch Internet Genealogy Service
- Internet Genealogy Sites
- Marquis Who's Who
- Nobel Prize Laureates
- UWM Library - Archives - Genealogical Collections
- Wisconsin Genealogy Resources at the State Historical Society
Books and Publishers
Career and Employment
Citation Style Manuals & Writing Centers
Start here: What citation style should I use? (includes example citations in all standard formats)
- Annotated Bibliography, How to Prepare an
- APA Documentation Style: Writer's Handbook
- APA Style - Electronic References
- APA Style Resources
- Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper
- Citing Government Information Sources Using MLA (Modern Language Association) Style
- Citing References in Your Paper (UW Madison Writing Center)
- Internet Citation Guides: UW-Madison Reference Department
- MLA - Guide for Writing Research Papers
- Online! Citation Styles
- RefWorks
See How do I format a bibliography? for more information.
College Resources
- American School Directory
- American Universities Directory
- Braintrack University Index
- College and University Newspapers
- College and University Rankings
- Community College Web
- Federal Student Aid
- FinAid! SmartStudent Guide to Financial Aid
- Peterson's Education Supersite
- Study Guides for Assessment Tests
- U.S. News.edu
- Wisconsin
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Acronym Finder
- Acronym Server
- AltaVista Translation Services (Babel Fish)
- Bartleby.com
- Catholic Encyclopedia
- EBSCO Animals
- Encarta
- Encyclopedia Smithsonian
- Encyclopedia.com
- Everything2
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
- How Stuff Works
- InfoPlease.com (Information Please Almanac)
- Mental Measurements Yearbook
- Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary
- NetLingo: The Internet Language Dictionary
- OneLook Dictionary Search
- Oxford English Dictionary
- Quoteworld
- ROGET'S Thesaurus (ARTFL Project)
- Symbols Encyclopedia
- Urban Dictionary (slang)
- Web of Online Dictionaries
- Wikipedia
- XRefer
Directories
Phone Numbers, Addresses, E-mail, etc.
- UW - Milwaukee Directories (Faculty, Staff & Students)
- Area Codes: Fone Finder
- Google Local
- Infospace
- International Dialing Codes
- International Yellow Pages
- Internet 800 Directory
- Switchboard
- Telephone Directories on the Web (international)
- USPS ZIP Code Lookup and Address Information
- World Addressing Formats
Specialized Directories
- Associations Unlimited
- BBB Wise Giving Alliance
- DIRLINE: Directory of Health Organizations
- Foreign Embassies of Washington, D.C
- Foundation Center
- Museums Pages
- Public Records Database Collection
- Schoolbug.org K-12 Directory
- Tourism Offices Worldwide Directory
- U.S. Embassies and Other Diplomatic Missions
Facts, Figures, and Consumer Information
- AMA Online Doctor Finder
- American FactFinder (U.S. Census data)
- Automobile Buyers Guides
- Better Business Bureau
- Calculators Online
- Calendar Zone
- Calendars: Where Do You Want To Go Today?
- Currency Converter (GoCurrency.com)
- Currency Converter (OANDA)
- Epinions
- Price's List of Lists
- Quotations Page
- Time.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau
- Weather
- WWW Unit Converter
Internet Search Tools
Directories
Search Engines
Meta-Search Engines
Evaluation
See also How do I know if a web source is reliable? for more information.
Maps & Almanacs
- Columbia Gazetteer of the World
- Country Studies (Library of Congress)
- Geographic Names
- Google Maps
- InfoPlease.com (Information Please Almanac)
- How Far Is It?
- MapQuest
- MSN Maps & Directions
- Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection (University of Texas)
- Rand McNally
- Old Farmers Almanac
- Time Zones
- World Factbook
- World Flag Database
- World Wide Constitutions
- Yahoo! Neighborhood Profiles
Milwaukee & Wisconsin
- Milwaukee (City) - Government Home Page
- Milwaukee County
- State of Wisconsin
- Wisconsin Cities, Towns and Villages
- First Call for Help (Southeastern Wisconsin Health and Human Care Agencies)
- Milwaukee County Transit System
- Milwaukee Property Data
- Greater Milwaukee Convention and Visitors Bureau
- University of Wisconsin
- University of Wisconsin System "Redbook"
Non-UWM users may use Ask a Librarian to obtain this information - University of Wisconsin System Student Statistics
- UWM Class Tally Information
- University of Wisconsin System "Redbook"
- Wisconsin Blue Book
- Wisconsin County Maps
- Wisconsin Department of Tourism
- Yahoo! Travel Milwaukee
Statistics
- American FactFinder (census data)
- CenStats
- Country at a Glance
- FedStats
- InfoPlease.com (Information Please Almanac)
- NationMaster.com
- Price's List of Lists
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
- Statistical Resources on the Internet (UWM Library)
- Statistical Universe
- U.S.A. Statistics in Brief
- U.S. Census Bureau
Tax Information
See the library guide Tax Information, General Points for Filing Taxes for more information.
Tax Preparation Software
Tax Forms
Return Status
Volunteer Tax Assistance
- Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) / Taxpayer Counseling for the Elderly (TCE) (Wisconsin Dept. of Revenue)
- Volunteer Tax Information (IRS)
U.S. Tax Code Online
UWM Reference E-books
- Agriculture (5)
- American History (6)
- Anthropology (3)
- Archaeolgy (1)
- Art and Architecture (6)
- Astronomy (1)
- Business (57)
- Career Guides (68)
- Computer Science (4)
- Ecology (16)
- Economics (4)
- Education (6)
- Environmental Sciences (5)
- Ethics (1)
- Ethnic Studies (6)
- Genealogy (1)
- General Works (3)
- Geography (1)
- Health and Medicine (209)
- Library and Information Science(2)
- Music (11)
- Occult Sciences (2)
- Philosophy (5)
- Psychology (11)
- Religion and Mythology (13)
- Science (1)
- Sociology (7)
- Statistics (7)
- Technology (10)
- Vocational Guidance (13)
- Women's Studies (5)
- World History (13)



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait