UWM Music Library Student Employee Guide: Golda Meir LibraryBuilding Information

There is no public access between the first floor East Wing from the second floor.

Users must access the east wing Lower Level and floors 2 and 3 via the West Wing.

The All-Library Student Orientation building tour is intended to familiarize new student workers with the building and get a sense of where things are located.

Lower Level

  West:  Media & Reserve Library

• Browsing Collection (New Books)
• DVDs/Videos/Audio books
• Video Games
• Microformat Research Collection
• Newspapers
• Equipment checkout (i.e. headphones, computers, cameras)
• Reserve Services (Materials that are not online)
• Compact Shelving
• Staff Lounge (available for student employee use)
• Reference Annex
• Cell Phone Charging Station

   East

• Stacks for books with call numbers S-Z
• Compact shelving
• Quiet Study Area

First Floor

   West

• Circulation
• UITS help desk
• Grind
• Computers
• Meeting/Group Rooms
• Learning Commons
• Study Spaces
• Reference Help/Ask a Librarian Desk (located between Main Circulation and UITS at the long curvy desk)
• Staff Offices
• Kitchenette with microwave and fridge (available for student employee use)
• Day-use lockers (available for student employee use)
• Adaptive Technology Rooms (ADA/Americans with Disabilities Act Rooms)
• Cell Phone Charging Station
• School Supplies Vending Machine
• Snack and Soda Vending Machines
• Water Bottle Filling Station
• Instruction Rooms/Computer Labs, known as Room A and Room B (W194 and W190)
• Reference Collection

   East

• Panther Academic Support Services (PASS)
• Writing Center Satellite
• Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning (CETL)
• Learning Technology Center offices (LTC, part of CETL)
• Library Digitization Department/Digital Collections and Initiatives 
• Instruction Room E159

Second Floor

   West

• Stacks for books with call numbers N and Q-R
• Honors Study Room
• Collections and Resource Management (aka, Technical Services)
• Business Office
• Archives/Area Research Center

   East

• Curriculum Collection (Books with Dewey Decimal Numbers)
• Music Library (Books with call numbers M, ML, MT)
• Music Equipment checkout (headphones, turntables, etc.)
• Quiet Study Area
• Digital Humanities Lab

Third Floor

   West

• Stacks for books with call numbers D-L and P
• Gender-neutral bathrooms

   East

• American Geographical Society Library (AGSL)
• Geographical Information Systems (GIS)
• Stacks for books with call numbers A-C (tricky, as only accessible via West wing - do not cross the bridge!)

Fourth Floor

• Special Collections
• Conference Center
• Staff Lounge (available for student employee use)