Public Administration Research Resources

The U.S. Census Bureau interface for distributing the Decennial Census of Population and Housing, the Economic Census, the American Community Survey, annual economic surveys, and other upcoming major related statistical files. This site is the primary source for the Census and the current economic census reports. The site is updated regularly with new data as it becomes available to the public.

Provides access to a wide variety of economic, social, and political indicators including data sets from the U.S. government, the International Monetary Fund, the World Trade Organization, the OECD, Eurostat, the United Nations, the world's stock exchanges, and Zillow. Offers customized graphing and mapping.

The Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition Online is the definitive source of statistics and data about the United States and is a key resource for American history research from Colonial times to the present. This is an updated version of the print resource. This resource includes statistics from over 1,000 sources and includes more than 37,000 data series. It covers all data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade - quantitative facts of American History. Major categories include: Population, Work and Welfare, Economic Structure and Performance, Economic Sectors, Governance and International Relations.

The World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data, including more than 2,000 financial, business, health, economic and human development indicators for over 200 countries, with some of the data going back 50 years. The Data Catalog lists available World Bank data sources, such as World Development Indicators. This listing will continue to be updated as additional data resources are added. These resources include databases, pre-formatted tables and reports. Each of the listings includes a description of the data source and a direct link to that source. Where possible, the databases are linked directly to a selection screen to allow users to select the countries, indicators, and years they would like to search. Those search results can be exported in different formats. Users can also choose to download the entire database directly from the catalog.

The International Financial Statistics database from the IMF contains approximately 32,000 time series on aspects of international and domestic finance for more than 190 countries. Topics covered include national accounts, prices, labor markets, interest & exchange rates, money & banking, and more.

World Development Indicators (WDI) online provides a comprehensive selection of economic, social and environmental indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies. The database covers more than 900 indicators for 210 economies with some data back to 1960. The WDI database is the primary World Bank database for development data from officially-recognized international sources.