Public Administration Research Resources

Then review the document below for more information on the characteristics of various types of sources.

We've learned that different sources are created with different audiences in mind to fulfill different purposes. Taking time to consider a source's author, audience, and purpose will help you understand the information shared in the source and use it appropriately. Complete the activity below to practice differentiating popular and scholarly source types based on their author, audience, and purpose.

1. Review Example Sources

Without reading or watching each source in full, review the 5 source examples below. Make note of details that point to each source's author, audience, and purpose.

Tip: Each example link will open in a new window. Once you've opened all the sources, compare them. What are the similarities and differences in the ways the sources are formatted and made available?

Research Article

News Source 1

Textbook

News Source 2

Webpage

2. Complete the Drag-and-drop Source Spectrum Activity

After you've decided where each example source falls on the Source Spectrum, Arrange the source tiles on the spectrum. The more popular a source seems, the further left it goes. The more scholarly a source is, the further right it falls on the spectrum. Once you're satisfied with how you ordered the examples sources from popular to scholarly, check your answer for feedback.

2. Reflect or Discuss

Discuss with classmates or reflect on your own

• What evidence did you find in the example sources that helped you decide where these sources go on the spectrum?
• How could you use News Source 2 and the Research article from the examples above in a college-level paper?

In this activity, you will practice searching in different library databases and comparing the ways different stakeholders (scholars or experts) explore the same issue.

Compare search results from Academic Search Complete and Public Administration Abstracts​.

a. Open both research tools: Academic Search Complete and Public Administration Abstracts.

b. Conduct a search in each using the same terms: municipal governments and shared services

c.  Scan the titles and details for articles on the first page of search results generated by each database. Note differences and similarities you see in the types of journals included in the databases as well as in topic coverage.

d.  Next, identify one additional library database that may be useful for searching for articles on this topic, either by reviewing the resources listed under the Articles tab on this guide or browsing the library's Databases by Subject page.