Skip to main content

Latino Activism at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, 1969-1970 - Archives Dept.: Sources and More Info

History of activism conducted by Latino students and community members in 1969 and 1970, ultimately leading to the creation of the Roberto Hernandez Center. Includes a timeline of important events, images, and a bibliography of additional sources.

Sources

 

This annotated bibliography includes references to primary and secondary sources held in the UWM Libraries relating to the history of Latino activism at UWM from 1969 to 1970.


 

Primary Sources in the UWM Archives

Milwaukee Journal Stations Records. Milwaukee Mss 203. University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries, Archives Department.

See news film clips dated: August 27, August 28, August 31, September 1, and October 23. All of these have been copied to video cassette #47 for viewing.

Hernandez, Roberto, Papers. UWM Mss 274. University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries, Archives Department.

See box 1, folder 9, “Photographs, 1964-1994.” View finding aid.

UW-Milwaukee University Communications & Media Relations Records. UWM AC 134. University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries, Archives Department.

See box 2, folder 3, “Latin Students, 1969-1971”; and box 3, folder 3, “News Clippings, 1967-1974.” Press releases dating from September through October 1970 are found in box 5, folders 17-18; those dating from November 1970 are found in box 6, folder 1. View finding aid.

UW-Milwaukee Office of the Chancellor Records. UWM AC 46. University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries, Archives Department.

See box 18, folder 31, “Spanish Speaking Community, 1970” and folder 32, “Spanish Speaking Outreach Institute, 1970-1972.” View finding aid.

UW-Milwaukee Photographs Collection. UWM AC 6. University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries, Archives Department.

See box 11, folder 39, “Demonstrations, Hispanic Sit-In, 1970.” View finding aid.

UW-Milwaukee Spanish Speaking Outreach Institute Records. UWM AC 116. University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries, Archives Department.

See box 3, folder 32, “Founding Documents, 1970-1972.” View finding aid.

UWM Post (Milwaukee, Wis.).

See articles in issues dated October 13, October 16, October 20, and November 3, 1970.

 

Books and Articles

Cuauhtemoc, Juan Alvarez, Joseph A. Rodriguez, and Mark S. Rodriguez. “An Overview of Latino History in Milwaukee.” Myriad (spring 2005): 20-30.

Freskos, George and Roberto Hernandez. “Viva La Raza: Social Action in Inner City South.” UWM Magazine 4, no. 3 (summer 1970): 14-19.

Gurda, John. The Making of Milwaukee. Milwaukee: Milwaukee County Historical Society, 1999.

“Harvey, Fernandez Appointed.” UWM Newsletter 2, no. 4 (November 25, 1970): 1.

Klotsche, J. Martin. Confessions of an Educator: My Personal and Professional Memoirs. Milwaukee: J.M. Klotsche, 1985.

Rodriguez, Jose and Marc Shelley. “Latinos and Asians in Milwaukee.” In Perspectives on Milwaukee's Past, edited by Margo Anderson and Victor Greene, 162-191. Urbana, Ill: University of Illinois Press, 2009.

Rodriguez, Marc. “A Movement Made of Young Mexican Americans Seeking Change: Critical Citizenship, Migration, and the Chicano Movement in Texas and Wisconsin, 1960-1975.” Western Historical Quarterly 34, no. 3 (autumn 2003): 274-300.

Rodriguez-Donato, Jr., Felipe. “The Role of the Hispanic Community in Shaping the Mission, Goals, Objectives, and Operations of the Spanish-Speaking Outreach Institute from 1970 to 1971.” MA thesis, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, 1988.