Skip to main content

Latino Activism at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, 1969-1970 - Archives Dept.: Images

History of activism conducted by Latino students and community members in 1969 and 1970, ultimately leading to the creation of the Roberto Hernandez Center. Includes a timeline of important events, images, and a bibliography of additional sources.

Images

Students attempt to register for classes while only speaking in Spanish, August 28, 1970. (Photo from box 1, folder 9, Roberto Hernandez Papers) The arrest of one of the activists, August 27, 1970. (Photo from box 1, folder 9, Roberto Hernandez Papers) Students marching, August 1970. (Photo from box 1, folder 9, Roberto Hernandez Papers)


CELA supporting the activists outside Chapman Hall, October 1970. (Photo from box 1, folder 9, Roberto Hernandez Papers) Latino activists march to Madison, August 1970. (Photo from box 1, folder 9, Roberto Hernandez Papers) Supporters of the Latino activists sit in the lobby of Chapman Hall, October 19, 1970 ("Latins stage sit-in; Agreement reached," UWM Post, October 20, 1970)

Jesus Salas announces that an agreement has been reached between the university and the Latino activists, October 19, 1970. ("Latins stage sit-in; Agreement reached," UWM Post, October 20, 1970) Roberto Hernandez during the week-long camp out outside of Chapman Hall, October 12-19, 1970. (Photo from box 1, folder 9, Roberto Hernandez Papers) Roberto Hernandez in his army uniform, circa 1964. (Photo from box 1, folder 9, Roberto Hernandez Papers)

Roberto Hernandez. (Photo from box 1, folder 9, Roberto Hernandez Papers) Both sides speaking during the first sit-in of Chancellor Klotsche's office, August 27, 1970. (Photo from box 11, folder 39, UW-Milwaukee Photographs Collection) Latino activists during the sit-in, August 27, 1970. (Photo from box 11, folder 30, UW-Milwaukee Photographs Collection)

Police arrive at Chancellor Klotsche's office, August 27, 1970. (Photo from box 11, folder 39, UW-Milwaukee Photographs Collection) A Latino activist speaking during the sit-in; Roberto Hernandez is on the left, August 27, 1970. (Photo from box 11, folder 30, UW-Milwaukee Photographs Collection) Assistant Chancellor John Solon speaking to activists during the sit-in for a Spanish Institute at the Chancellor's office, August 27, 1970. (Photo from box 11, folder 39, UW-Milwaukee Photographs Collection)

The arrest of the five activists, August 27, 1970. (Photo from box 11, folder 30, UW-Milwaukee Photographs Collection) Children taking part in the sit-in, August 27, 1970. (Photo from box 11, folder 30, UW-Milwaukee Photographs Collection) A University official speaking with the Latino activists, August 27, 1970. (Photo from box 11, folder 30, UW-Milwaukee Photographs Collection)

Latino activists during the final sit-in outside Chancellor  Klotsche's office in Chapman Hall, October 19, 1970. (Photo from box 11, folder 30, UW-Milwaukee Photographs Collection)