More Search Options

Generally, if you keep finding the same articles, or see the same authors cited repeatedly, it's a sign that you've found the key articles, but you may also need to look in new places.

Have you checked Subject Specific Databases in your Discipline?
More focused results than a general database

Databases by Subject

Searched Google Scholar?
A broad search across disciplines and types of sources - discover new resources

Google Scholar Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and pre-print archives.

Explored Citation Searching?
Find articles that cite previously published work - can lead you to seminal articles - Google Scholar searches current education citations well

Examined Dissertations?
Dissertations contain literature reviews and references which can help you find relevent research

Dissertations & Theses Global ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is a collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.

Searched Online Educational Resources?
Open access journals, data and statistics, testing, certification, educational organizations

Online Education Resources
Internet Resources for those researching in the Education field

Found Proceedings of Conferences or other Meetings?
In education, starting places to look are: in the government version of ERIC, on the organization’s website, or in Search@UW.

ERIC - Education Resources Information Center ERIC is the source for information on all aspects of education for all age groups, including counseling, tests, and measurement. ERIC indexes journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, standards and guidelines.

Checked WorldCat?
Combined catalog of many different world libraries finds what's available beyond UWM

WorldCat WorldCat holds tens of millions of bibliographic records that represent more than one billion items. It encompasses hundreds of languages and all formats, including rapidly growing numbers of electronic resources and digital objects.

Looked at Review Articles/Reviews of the Topic?
Use term “literature reviews” or synonym as a search term - some databases allow searches by document type such as "review article"

Consulted Faculty and Colleagues?
Faculty and colleagues are a valuable source of information and direction!

Need data?
Try these recommended online sources

Data Indexes

Sage Data

Education Research

Ask A Librarian

More Search Options

Generally, if you keep finding the same articles, or see the same authors cited repeatedly, it's a sign that you've found the key articles, but you may also need to look in new places.