Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A Guide to Health Sciences, Medical and Nursing Information: Images & Media

databases, web resources, statistics and print resources for Nursing, health sciences, medicine, bioinformatics

Images and Sound Databases

Databases for Health and Medicine Images

Reverse Google Image Search

Resources for Images

  • Google Image Search
    Search for image files available on the internet using the Google Image Search. Search by location or a general topic.  http://images.google.com/
     
  • Academic Search - Select "More" and then "Image Collection", for more than 1 million images relating to people, natural science, places, history, and flags. Focus your search using the Image Quick View Collection types available: Black and White Photographs, Color Photographs, Diagrams, Illustrations, Charts, Graphs, Maps
  • Moving Image Archive   Extensive collection of free movies, films, and videos - including daily alternative news broadcasts and other "local" content.
  • ARTstor  A digital library of over 1 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences
  • CQ Researcher  Search by topic, then click on the "Maps/Graphs" option (left column) to save charts and other images on your topic.

Citing Images in APA

Images, diagrams and artistic works should be credited to their creators as you would cite any other type of work.
 
Note:
  • Images in text are also generally accompanied by a caption that includes copyright information and a statement of permission for use. Please check with your instructor to see if this is necessary.
Tip: You should give as much information as possible about the images that you have used, including these basics:
  • creator's name (author, artist, photographer etc.)
  • date the work was published or created
  • title of the work
  • place of publication
  • publisher
  • type of material (for photographs, charts, online images)
  • website address and access date
  • name of the institution or museum where the work is located (for artworks and museum exhibits)
  • dimensions of the work (for artworks)
General Format 
      In-Text Citation (Paraphrase): 
      (Artist Surname, Year)
     
      In-Text Citation (Quotation):
      (Artist Surname, Year)
 
 
      References:
      Artist Surname, First Initial. Second Initial. (Year). Title of the artwork [Format].
            Retrieved from URL (address of web site)

       Reference (No Author)
      Title of work [Type of work]. (Year image was created). 
            Retrieved from URL (address of web site)

       Reference  (No Author, No Title, No Date)
      Many images found on the Web fall under this category. 
      Try to locate the missing information by clicking on the image,
      and/or looking at the bottom of the image.
             [Subject and type of work]. Retrieved from URL (address of web site)

  Example
 
 
 
      In-Text Citation (Paraphrase):
      (Baumel, 2010)
 
 
      In-Text Citation (Quotation):
      (Baumel, 2010)
 
 
 
      References (Basic):
      Baumel, A.  (2010). Cholera treatment center in Haiti [Online image]. 
             Retrieved October 2, 2010 from https://www.doctorswithoutborders.org
 
        Reference (No Author)
      Flu epidemic [Online image]. (1919).Retrieved November 6, 2010
             from http://www.history.net/photo/flu-epidemic-art/collections 
 
       Reference  (No Author, No Title, No Date):
       [Untitled illustration of a sleeping dog ]. Retrieved December 5, 2010
             from http://www.sleepinganimals/pix.com