Project Gutenberg: offers over 49,000 free e-books; choose among free epub books or free kindle books, download them or read them online.
Bartelby, Great Books Online: "The preeminent Internet publisher of literature, reference, and verse providing students, researchers, and the intellectually curious with unlimited access to books and information the web, free of charge."
The Cambridge History of English and American Literature: "Considered the most important work of literary history and criticism ever published, the Cambridge History contains over 303 chapters and 11,000 pages, with essay topics ranging from poetry, fiction, drama and essays to history, theology and political writing."
Google Books: "This is a service Google provides that searches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned, converted to text, and stored in its digital database. Books are provided either by publishers and authors, though partner programs, or through the Library Project."
LibriVox: "Free, public domain audiobooks"
Poetry Archive: "Exists to help make poetry accessible, relevant, and enjoyable to a wide audience; a collection of recordings of poets reading their own works, with text accompaniment"
Poetry Foundation: "Publisher of Poetry magazine; an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture; exists to discover and celebrate the best poetry and to place it before the largest possible audience"
Emily Dickinson Archive: "Makes high-resolution images of Dickinson's surviving manuscripts available in open access, and provides readers with a website through which they can view images of manuscripts held in multiple libraries and archives"
New York Times Book Reviews: "A free collection of book reviews published in the New York Times since 1981"
Kirkus Book Reviews: "Book reviews and recommendations from the most trusted voice in book discovery"
NPR Book Reviews: "Summary judgement on books of note, from NPR personalities, independent booksellers and critics from across the public-radio spectrum"
Washington Post Book Reviews: "Book reviews and news about new books, best sellers, authors, literature, biographies, memoirs, children's books, fiction, non-fiction, and more"
A selected few of the many websites dedicated to literary works & authors
Danteworlds: "An integrated multimedia journey--combining artistic images, textual commentary, and audio recordings--through the three realms of the afterlife (Inferno, Purgatory, Paradise) presented in Dante's Divine Comedy"--maintained by the University of Texas at Austin
Electronic Beowulf: Everything you would need to study Beowulf--maintained by the University of Kentucky
Mark Twain Project Online: "The MTP applies innovative technology to more than four decades' worth of archival research by expert editors at the MTP; offers unfettered, intuitive access to reliable texts, accurate and exhaustive notes,a nd the most recently discovered letters and documents. Ultimate purpose is to produce a digital critical edition, fully annotated, of everything Mark Twain wrote"--maintained by the University of California
Open Source Shakespeare: "Attempts to be the best free website containing Shakespeare's complete works; intended for scholars, thespians,and Shakespeare lovers of every kind"