Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theatre 441: Physical Performance 2: Images of Physical Theatre Companies

What is Physical Theatre or Physical Performance ? How do I identify valid research tools to build my portfolio and experience of it?

Banner

Image Sources

You can just use Google.

But most of what you find will be covered by copyright (contrary to popular belief, just because it's on the Internet does NOT mean it's in the Public Domain). Here are some sources that you can use to locate images that you CAN use. This may be because they are old enough to be in the Public Domain, because the owner has granted public use of them, or they are part of a database that the Libraries' have subscribed to specifically for this purpose.

 

  • ARTStor - a digital library of over 1 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. NB: This is available only to UWM users. You should be prompted for your ePanther ID when you click that link.
  • Europeana - Explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. It promotes discovery and networking opportunities in a multilingual space where users can engage, share in and be inspired by the rich diversity of Europe's cultural and scientific heritage.
  • Milwaukee Repertory Theatre Photo Collection - The Milwaukee Repertory Theater Photographic History provides a visual chronicle of the artistic productions of the Milwaukee Repertory Theater in the years 1977-1994. The collection presents 1,800 images documenting 195 performances during these 17 seasons.
  • Wikimedia Commons - is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone, in their own language. It acts as a common repository for the various projects of the Wikimedia Foundation, but you do not need to belong to one of those projects to use media hosted here. The repository is created and maintained not by paid archivists, but by volunteers. The scope of Commons is set out on the project scope pages.

 

Using a photo appropriately

An example of how one can use an image that you find in one of the sources listed on the left is the image in the banner at the top of this page. I found that image in the Wikimedia Commons. The original is here

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Moore_Theatre_100_Years_-_Tamara_06A.jpg

where you will see that the original photographer - Joe Mabel - has said

You are free:
  • to share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work
  • to remix – to adapt the work
Under the following conditions:
  • attribution – You must attribute the work in the manner specified by the author or licensor (but not in any way that suggests that they endorse you or your use of the work).
  • share alike – If you alter, transform, or build upon this work, you may distribute the resulting work only under the same or similar license to this one.

I have 'remixed' and 'shared'  the image, and I am giving him attribution here and others are free to take my 'remix' and use it if they have a way in which it will fit their needs.


UWM's Digital Collections have a statement about use of the images contained. It reads

Reproduction and Use

Please use this form (not duplicated here) to submit an order for high-resolution digital reproductions of images included in the UWM Libraries Digital Collections. A reproduction fee is charged for high-resolution copies in TIFF.

The low-resolution images available from the UWM Libraries Digital Collections website may be copied by individuals or libraries for personal use, research, teaching or any “fair use” as defined by copyright law. Low resolution images can be downloaded for no charge by clicking on the “download” button at the upper right hand corner of the image and saving to your local computer.

Use fees are charged in addition to reproduction fees when images are published or redistributed. Use fees are negotiated on an individual basis. Requests to publish, exhibit, or redistribute the images included in the UWM Libraries Digital Collections must be obtained in writing. Please contact the UWM Libraries staff at digilib@uwm.edu for a permission form.