Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theatre 441: Physical Performance 2: Documenting

What is Physical Theatre or Physical Performance ? How do I identify valid research tools to build my portfolio and experience of it?

Banner

Documenting What You Find

You can find biographical information about writers and performers through these resources

Library Databases

Biography & Genealogy Master Index - Biography and Genealogy Master Index contains over 13 million biographical sketches. Current reference sources are indexed, as well as retrospective works that cover individuals from a number of fields and areas of the world. Sources include biographical dictionaries and "who's whos", subject encyclopedias, volumes of literary criticism, and indices.

Contemporary Authors - Contemporary Authors provides biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors.

Gale Virtual Reference Library - Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of specialized reference sources. Titles include: Contemporary Black Biography, Business Plans Handbook, International Directory of Company Histories, College Fellowships and Loans, College Blue Book, Acronyms, Initialisms and Abbreviations Dictionary, Writer's Directory and many others.

Literary Reference Center - Literary Reference Center is a comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It is a comprehensive database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else.

LitFinder - LitFinder provides indexing and full-text access to thousands of poems, short stories, essays, plays, and speeches in the areas of Literature, History, Economics, Sociology, Art & Architecture, Philosophy, Psychology, Science, and Drama dating back to the 9th Century BCE. Entries include biographies, author pictures and entry explanations.

Marquis Who's Who - Marquis Who's Who provides access to basic biographical profiles on over 1 million of the most accomplished individuals from all fields of endeavor including: government, business, science & technology, the arts, entertainment and sports. PLEASE NOTE: The UWM Libraries has 1 simultaneous user for this service. If you can not access the service please try again later.

 

Public Access Resources

 

Google - Really just a link to other sources, you can start with Google to see what might come up on the artist, company, theatrical style or whatever, you are researching. But be careful what you use. You need to evaluate it for authority on the topic.

 

Wikipedia -  You generally can not cite Wikipedia as your primary resource for information, but it is an excellent place to start. And, honestly, sometimes it is the only place to find information, especially when looking at unusual and foreign resources. So, use it judiciously.

 

The UWM Libraries has an excellent tutorial on how evaluate what you find.

 

http://guides.library.uwm.edu/infolit/module5

RefWorks - RefWorks is a web-based tool that helps you manage citations, create bibliographies, and import references from databases. It can convert stored citations into formatted bibliographies. Formatting styles include APA, Chicago, and MLA. To store your citations, you are required to register with the site. Creating an account is free.

The UWM Libraries has an excellent page on how, what, and why you need to site your materials. Take look if you have any questions.

http://guides.library.uwm.edu/infolit/module6