UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Journalism & Media Studies: Newspaper Articles

Recommended Databases for Locating Information in Newspapers

Milwaukee Journal Sentinel (In Library Only)
1990-1996 (see Wisconsin Newsstand for 1994-present).
more...less...
This title is available on computers in the library, via the Start menu. Click on the Windows Start Button button in the lower left corner of your screen, and choose your database from the Programs menu.
LexisNexis Academic
Dates vary; full-text of over 4,000 current events/news publications, legal and government information, and business news and corporate information.
CQ Researcher
1991-present; Reports from Congressional Quarterly providing analysis on issues in the news.
Newsbank Newsfile (In Library Only)
1996-December 2001; full text news resource covering current issues and events from over 500 U.S. and Canadian newspapers, news sources and international news wires.
more...less...
This title is available on computers in the library, via the Start menu. Click on the Windows Start Button button in the lower left corner of your screen, and choose your database from the Programs menu.
GenderWatch
1970-present; full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues.
Regional Business News
Dates vary; Indexes 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from major metropolitan areas within the United States. Full text is available for more than 50 titles.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1909-1975) This link opens in a new window
The Chicago Defender (1909-1975) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times (1881-2000) This link opens in a new window
The Los Angeles Times (1881-2000) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers - The New York Times
1851-3 years ago;Searchable full text starting with the first issue. Full image digital reproductions for every page from every available issue. Includes display and classified ads; comics and cartoons; photos, maps and graphics; editorials and commentary
more...less...
For more recent articles, use ProQuest Newspapers

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal (1889-2012) This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal (1889-2012) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Email Me

Contact:

UWM Libraries
Daniel M. Soref Learning Commons

414-229-6204

Subjects: Communication, English, Film & Television, Information Studies, Journalism & Media Studies, Literature